Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feature Lines and Sites

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
seanbuccs
3744 Views, 2 Replies

Feature Lines and Sites

Hello somebody please help me.

I am new to civil 3d. I am building a site down the side of a mountain which consists of 4 tiers/ pads with different levels. Each of the 4 pads has its own feature line. To prevent any confusion or attractions of the feature lines to each other i have moved them to a site that i created called temp site locations.

What is the best way and location to do each of these gradings and how do i tie them all back on to the same drawing ????????????

. I assume (maybe wrongly) to do each seperatly and copy back into the the real drawing.

Do i need to create a new site for each pad

if i do my grading in the temperary site when i bring them back to the real site will the interact with the other feature lines.

Looking forward to your replies

Sean

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
BrianHailey
in reply to: seanbuccs

"Sites" in Civil 3D are probably one of the most confusing things around. When you think of a site, you probably think, "The location of my project". This is so far from what a site actually is. A site is a topology. I wrote up an explanation of what a "Site" is on my blog. You can read about it HERE.

In short, just create a seperate site for each piece of grading and then create a surface for each one (personally, I would do them each in a different drawing). Once you have surfaces done, create another surface and paste all the individual surfaces into that one surface and you're done.

Brian J. Hailey, P.E.

GEI Consultants
My Civil 3D Blog

Message 3 of 3
Sinc
in reply to: seanbuccs