Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feature Lines and Polylines

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
TheJabberwocky
2262 Views, 10 Replies

Feature Lines and Polylines

Hiya,

I'm pretty new to using Feature lines, but for what I am doing now I realise they are easier for me to use. I am connecting a series of points up into a continuous line, with straights and arcs in it. Creating the feature line itself is fine, and my question is probably very simple and easy to do, I just can't seem to find it.

The program I need to use to create my file for machine control on site does not recognise feature lines and will not import them. To get a 3D line into a job it needs to be a 3dpolyline. I know I can just explode a feature line back to a polyline, and generally this works fine, but it simplifies the arcs into straight edges, running from start to mid point to end.

Don't bother saying I need to switch the other program for a new one, this is what the company uses and I am required to use it to create my job files. Aside from not reading feature lines it is perfectly fine for what we do with it.

What I would like to know is either:

Can I turn Feature Lines into 3d polys and retain to curves?

or Can I add extra points around the curves simply so that when I explode it it has more straight edges, ie. break a single curve up into 5 segments, or similar?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
neilyj666
in reply to: TheJabberwocky

Additional vertices can be added to featurelines quite easily by increment or distance although I'm not sure what happens for arc portions of the featureline

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.