AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 41 of 49 (631 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-15-2012 10:46 PM in reply to: civ_engineer

If you are on 2012 or lower, the only way to get linetypes is to explode your Featurelines/SurveyFigures into 3D polylines, then convert to 2D polylines and enable Linetype Generation.

 

This one feature alone has us tempted to upgrade to C3D 2013...  Only problem is all the other problems people have been finding with C3D 2013, as most readers of this newsgroup have seen.  So we'll probably wait until the first SP.  We're in the business of making money via production, not via being unpaid beta testers for Autodesk for their annual incompatible releases (can you tell I'm not a fan of that...?).

Sinc
Active Contributor
NeilSpoon
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 42 of 49 (536 Views)

Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 05:27 AM in reply to: Sinc

I always wanted to use Featureline Styles to annotate my kerbing plan (ie. it all works automatically based on the kerb type selected). I could never do this because linetype generation was not possible and it all went **** up in curves etc.

 

Update 2.1 for Civil 3D 2012 seems to have fixed this linetype generation issue. You can see in the attached image that it now works. (ps. I made a custom kerb subassembly in the composer to enable this).

 

However, if you xref the Civil 3D drawing into standard CAD, the old issue re-appears and the lines become useless. You must open the drawing in Civil 3D and it will work fine.

 

 

---------------------------------------
Intel Xeon E31230 - 3.20 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
Windows 7 Professional - 64-bit
Nvidia Quadro 600 - 1GB DDR3
---------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
civ_engineer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 43 of 49 (529 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: NeilSpoon

How do your features lines look when projected to a profile?  Mine look horrible.  Not only does the linetype generation not work but it rotates the text in the linestyle.  To fix I have to explode the feature in the profile and convert it to a ployline with linetype general enabled.

Active Contributor
NeilSpoon
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 44 of 49 (518 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: civ_engineer

I have never had to project a featureline in a profile before. But I have just tried it and it appears to not work in that instance.....

---------------------------------------
Intel Xeon E31230 - 3.20 GHz
4.00 GB RAM
Windows 7 Professional - 64-bit
Nvidia Quadro 600 - 1GB DDR3
---------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
civ_engineer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 45 of 49 (499 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 07:48 AM in reply to: NeilSpoon

I was projecting my utilities to my profile.

Is there a better method that you use?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,127
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 46 of 49 (497 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: civ_engineer

Turn The FL into a Pipe Network?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
civ_engineer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 47 of 49 (492 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
humm.. I haven't tried pipe networks yet. Is that what you do?
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,127
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 48 of 49 (489 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: civ_engineer

Yup. Make pipe style to show diff utils.

 

Hint   limit the number of vertices in the FL to a sensible length. Ex  when I do water pipe I have vert 10 feet aprt; about the length of the actual pipe assumed.

 

I also understand 2013 has pressur pipes. This may also be useful.

 

But for plotting crossings: a short FL dropped to utility depth, tur to pipe and done 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 49 of 49 (477 Views)

Re: Linetype Generation in 2012

09-27-2012 03:50 PM in reply to: civ_engineer

Here's a bunch of videos I put together for best practices for pipe networks modelint pressure systems in 2012 and earlier (2013 has pressure networks).

 

http://civil3dplus.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/water-line-best-practices/ 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!