AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 21 of 49 (313 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: ArchD

No, this is for C3D objects only. 3dpolylines still display continuous only.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
ArchD
Posts: 320
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 22 of 49 (310 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

That's a shame. Well, until then, style based pens will make them look dashed the way they should be. It's just up to you guys to determine wether switching over to STB pen sets are worth it.

 

After using STB sets, there are tons of advantages, and I would rather use them, it's just hard to get everyone in a company on the same page.

Archie Dodge

Civil 3D 2013
Windows 7 64-bit
Xeon E5-1620 v2 @ 3.70 GHz
Nvidia Quadro K4000
32.0 GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 23 of 49 (295 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 12:58 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

I am not seeing linetype generation enabled for Survey Figures in C3D 2013.  Is there some trick involved...?

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,894
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 24 of 49 (292 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: Sinc

plinegen?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 25 of 49 (290 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: jmayo

johnm wrote:

plinegen?


No effect whatsoever.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 26 of 49 (287 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: Sinc

It appears to be working for me. In this image, the left vertex is at 0 elevation, the right is at 260. The second image is essentially the same from 2012. I haven't done anything special.

 

5-4-2012 1-23-42 PM.png

 

5-4-2012 1-27-27 PM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,894
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 27 of 49 (282 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 01:36 PM in reply to: Sinc

Plinegen may need to be on prior to creating the FL/Figure. Was is set to 1 when the FL or figure was created?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 28 of 49 (270 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: jmayo

I just tried it with featurelines in 2013 with both plinegen on and off and I saw no differences either way, the linetype was honored through the verticies (just like we all want it to). On a side note, this drawing was originally created in 2007 or 2008. Don't know if that makes any difference or not, just thought I would throw it out there.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 29 of 49 (263 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 07:49 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

STILL not seeing linetype generation in Survey Figures.  Not sure how y'all are seeing it.  What's the secret?

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 30 of 49 (263 Views)

Re: Feature line linetype generation

05-04-2012 08:36 PM in reply to: Sinc

Ah, I'm an idiot.  I had 2012 open.  Opening the same drawing in 2013 results in linetype generation.  Sorry!

Sinc
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.