AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 1 of 16 (282 Views)

Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

282 Views, 15 Replies
11-09-2012 06:25 AM

I have a feature line that is perpindicular to another and connected to it at a PI .

 

When I modify the elevations of one of the feature lines, the labels for slope and PI elevation of the dependent feature line do not react and update without having to invoke a REGEN.

 

Capture2.JPG

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 16 (263 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-09-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: fcernst

I think this is standard behaviour.  Unless I'm confused with using my C3D 2008.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 3 of 16 (259 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-09-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: troma

Can't be...it is tortuous to have to do this all day long.

 

The dependent feature line slope and PI elevation updates correctly as can be seen in the Elevation Editor for it. Just the labels are not updating without having to invoke a REGEN.

 

I want to be able to read and have the new slope and elevation information while designing. Also to confirm the change indeed took place without having to REGEN.

 

Thanks

Fred

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,832
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 16 (244 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 05:49 AM in reply to: fcernst

Perhaps REGENAUTO set to ON.

 

Bill

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 5 of 16 (239 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: wfberry

Yes REGENAUTO is set to ON and REGENMODE is set to 1 .

 

Is there something possibly wrong with the reactors for these text components? The directly edited feature line's labels update, but not the connected (dependent) feature line's labels.

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,832
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 6 of 16 (233 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: fcernst

Fred:

 

If you have a small drawing that you want to send me I will see what it does for me in 2013.  Just checking a minute ago, I can drag my FLs around with EL. & slope labels and they respond instantly.

 

I assume we are talking about the same thing.

 

Bill

 

wfberry AT bellsouth DOT net

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 7 of 16 (229 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: wfberry

Hi Bill,

 

No that's not the same. Dragging and snapping an indivdual feature line around like you say is fine.

 

  1. Draw one feature line with three PI's.
  2. Draw a second feature line with one of its endpoints attaching to the middle PI of the first feature line so they share the same elevation.
  3. Now edit the first feature line with, for example, the Set Grade/Slope Between Points command. Change the slope of the first feature line from end to end.

The labels on the first feature line update. The labels on the connecting second feature line do not update without having to invoke a manual REGEN.

 

I have attached a small test drawing if you would confirm.

 

Thanks

Fred

 

 

Capture.JPG

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,781
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 8 of 16 (226 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: fcernst

I'm seeing the same behavior in 2013. Seems to be a bug. I decided to try it in an earlier version so I went back to 2009 and  it works just fine there. New bug apparently.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 9 of 16 (223 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 02:29 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

@Brian Thank you for looking at this.

 

This is also happening on my extracted dynamic corridor feature lines when I do section parameter edits (i.e. change a lane slope). The section. corridor surface and contours update fine, but I have to get out of the Section Editor and Rebuild the corridor for the feature line labels to update.

 

Thanks again

Fred

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,781
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 10 of 16 (217 Views)

Re: Feature Line Labels not updating with last change

11-10-2012 03:22 PM in reply to: fcernst

As an alternative to labeling the featurelines, if the featurelines are added to a surface as breaklines, you can label the surface and they should update automatically.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.