AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 1 of 5 (325 Views)

Feature line - convert elevation point to PI

325 Views, 4 Replies
11-06-2013 06:08 AM

Is there a way to convert a feature line elevation point to PI?

 

My objective here is to delete all the elevation points except one. It would be time consuming to pick each elevation point and delete them individually (in this case there are about 15 but sometimes there are more). I want to use the delete all option but keep one one of them. If I can convert that one into a PI I could then quickly delete the remaining elevation points.

Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 5 (321 Views)

Re: Feature line - convert elevation point to PI

11-06-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: JeffPaulsen

Not as far as I know. But there might have been something since 2012 that I don't know about.

 

What I would probably do is to mark the location of the one elevation point you want to keep, delete all the elevation points and then use the entity I used to mark the location to either insert an elevation point or a PI.

 

Allen Jessup

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 5 (316 Views)

Re: Feature line - convert elevation point to PI

11-06-2013 06:32 AM in reply to: JeffPaulsen

I have wanted to do this soooo many times...

 

The other option is to break the FL at the Elv Pnt but this will wreck havoc on any labels if you have them.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 4 of 5 (307 Views)

Re: Feature line - convert elevation point to PI

11-06-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thanks Allen. I just drew a line to the elevation point to "mark" it, deleted all the elevation points, then added a PI at the end of the line. I had been breaking the feature line and joining it back up like John suggested but as he mentioned that messed up any labels I had on the feature line.

Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (290 Views)

Re: Feature line - convert elevation point to PI

11-06-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: JeffPaulsen

I just ignore labels until the end because the labels are shot if you break the FLine, add a PI, remove a PI, add an elv pnt or delete an elv pnt...Even if they're pinned the label stays and the leader moves...

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.