AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
DaveBlackH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 1 of 4 (514 Views)

Faro FLS point cloud errors

514 Views, 3 Replies
12-19-2012 02:23 AM

Hi all, I have been struggling to create a cloud point file in Civil 3d from a Faro .fls raw data file.

 

I am running Scene 5.1 so have installed the Faro SDK 5.1

 

I have copied the files from the folder

C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_faro.ls_1d23f5635ba800ab_1.1.501.0_none_347e88fb032f5788

into the folder

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\IndexCodecs

 

Simply get the error "The creation process is terminated because of some errors."

 

I am running Win7 64bit, I have also tried the Scene 5 Dll's and installed both the 32bit and 64bit ones, no joy as expected with them being old ones. I have removed the whole lot and just used 5.1 Dll's still the same.

 

I am running a trial of Civil 3D 2013 if that makes any odds.

 

Any further pointers about this?

 

Thanks


Dave

Member
DaveBlackH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 2 of 4 (505 Views)

Re: Faro FLS point cloud errors

12-19-2012 04:00 AM in reply to: DaveBlackH

Couple of updates,

 

I have installed SP1 for Civil 3d - no change to the fault.

 

I have installed a supposed 'fix' for the fault from here,

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=20400391&linkID=9240698

 

But think that may be for an older FLS format as it overwrote my dll's with older versions.

 

Have put back my 5.1 Scene dll's and still getting indexing problems, 

 

very annoying!


Dave

Member
DaveBlackH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (497 Views)

Re: Faro FLS point cloud errors

12-19-2012 05:03 AM in reply to: DaveBlackH

Another thing, in case its important - when installing Civil 3d i had various errors about not updating registry entries. Looking at the help it said to reset permissions in the registry, which I did. 

 

However I had about 100 of these errors on install, and just clicked ignore in the end as would have taken all year to reset the registry on each.

 

The program appears to run fine though - just adding this in in case its relevant.


Dave

Member
DaveBlackH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 4 of 4 (491 Views)

Re: Faro FLS point cloud errors

12-19-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: DaveBlackH

Ill keep adding to this what I am trying in the hope it jogs someones memory...

 

I have saved the rax fls file using the scene software as another fls file - incase the scanner had exported in an old format. This new fls file also does not import, 

 

Dave

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.