AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
andram
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 1 of 5 (184 Views)

F1/HELP Brings up Wrong Help Documentation

184 Views, 4 Replies
08-30-2013 09:09 AM

Everytime I want to bring up Help from Civil 3D (2014), I get the Raster Design 2014 Help documentation and not the Civil. I checked the Support File Search Path under Options, and it is referring to the correct path.

 

Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 5 (173 Views)

Re: F1/HELP Brings up Wrong Help Documentation

08-30-2013 10:51 AM in reply to: andram

Perhap if you select a command in Civil 3D and at the same time press the F1 key, you can get this to work right.

 

Bill


Windows 7 x 64 Professional
Nvidia GeForce 9800 & 8500
12 GB Ram
i7 965 @ 3.20 GHz
Corsair Force 240 GB SSD
Infrastructure Suite 2014

Active Contributor
andram
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 3 of 5 (165 Views)

Re: F1/HELP Brings up Wrong Help Documentation

08-30-2013 11:16 AM in reply to: andram

Unfortunately, that doesn't work. I tried it, but I get a page that says "The Page You Were Looking for Was Not Found". I know it's there, because I was able to open the correct index.html file in c:\program files\autodesk\autodesk autocad civil 3d 2014\help.

 

Also, if I don't know the specific command, I need to have the right help document. For example, I discovered the problem when I needed to know how to convert a 3D polyline to a 2D polyline. That capability isn't available in Raster Design, so I had to go to Autodesk's Knowledge Base or open the help files through Windows Explorer to find it. I don't want to have to do that every time.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 5 (140 Views)

Re: F1/HELP Brings up Wrong Help Documentation

08-31-2013 05:25 AM in reply to: andram

Until something better comes along, go to the ... help where you were before, drag it to the desktop.

 

 

bill

 

Active Contributor
andram
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
Message 5 of 5 (88 Views)

Re: F1/HELP Brings up Wrong Help Documentation

09-16-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: wfberry

It's not quite a "solution," but because of other issues with AutoCAD (such as errors during EXPORTTOAUTOCAD), I completely uninstalled and reinstalled the program. It now works peachy (including export).

 

Thanks for your suggestions, Bill.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.