AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jmaceachern
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 1 of 4 (392 Views)
Accepted Solution

Extract elevations from survey drawing

392 Views, 3 Replies
09-24-2012 12:40 PM

Hi, I've been sent a survey drawing with elevations. The format is a block, but it's not a named block. Each entity has it's own block name. So, I'm having trouble getting at the elevations. I can't seem to export and get the elevation or Postion Z.

 

I've tried exploding these blocks, but all I get is a couple of polylines, and some text. Useless. 

 

Any ideas? 

 

I've attached a sample drawing with a couple of these points.

 

Any help greatly appreciated! -jm

 

I wrote this for someone else recently and it seemed to do the trick. You are welcome to give it a shot.

 

Load the lisp, run the command "anon2pointblocks" which will create blocks which mimic the old Softdesk point block. You can then use the C3D command to Replace Softdesk Point Blocks.

 

I didn't test your drawing, as I don't have much time right now. If it doesn't work, let me know and I'll try to get something working this evening.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 4 (389 Views)

Re: Extract elevations from survey drawing

09-24-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: jmaceachern

I wrote this for someone else recently and it seemed to do the trick. You are welcome to give it a shot.

 

Load the lisp, run the command "anon2pointblocks" which will create blocks which mimic the old Softdesk point block. You can then use the C3D command to Replace Softdesk Point Blocks.

 

I didn't test your drawing, as I don't have much time right now. If it doesn't work, let me know and I'll try to get something working this evening.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Member
jmaceachern
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 3 of 4 (380 Views)

Re: Extract elevations from survey drawing

09-24-2012 01:34 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Jeff, that worked like a charm. I'm curious what software generated that original format, I'll have to do some inquiries, so I won't run into this issue agin.

 

Thanks so much! 

 

-jason m.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 4 (372 Views)

Re: Extract elevations from survey drawing

09-24-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: jmaceachern

The original most likely came from Civil3D exported to Autocad, which is what needs to be done when saving back to an older format.

 

If you find a response which answers your question, please be sure to accept the actual post which helped you as the solution. This will help future searchers quickly find answers to their own questions. Thanks!

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.