AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,992
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 16 (811 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

05-06-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Refine your explode command and add this

 

defun Bang (str)
  (vl-load-com)
  (setq sapi (vlax-create-object "Sapi.SpVoice"))
  (vlax-invoke sapi "Speak" str 0)
  (vlax-release-object sapi)
)

(Bang  "BANG ")

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 12 of 16 (403 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 07:14 AM in reply to: CARLBOYER8135

I tried extracting the contours, but it does not accomplish what I need. I use Civil 3D 2013 and I sent my drawing (with surface contours) to someone using Carlson 2013. My contours were not visible. When I extracted them and sent it they could not open the drawing at all. I had to completely explode the surface and then I lost my labels. Even though the resultant polylines maintained their elevation, I was unable to label the polys with elevations.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,894
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 13 of 16 (401 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: pyrmom

Did you try using the Export To AutoCAD commands? This may be the best way to send the surface.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 14 of 16 (392 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: jmayo
I think maybe exporting the surface to an XML file might be the way to go. I tested it with Microstation, and it was successful.
Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 15 of 16 (391 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 12:06 PM in reply to: pyrmom

I did not know I could do that. I am going to test it. Thanks!

Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 16 of 16 (388 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: pyrmom

It worked! Thanks so much. I didn't lose the contour elevation labels either.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.