AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,853
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 11 (265 Views)

Extent of rockfall netting

265 Views, 10 Replies
11-13-2012 12:08 PM

I have a model of a platform at 29.00m cut into rock and need to find  areas where the rock cut is 2m or more as this will require netting - any ideas of a quick way to do this??

 

 Extract the 31m contour and see where it runs is the best I've come up with......

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: neilyj

Would not a CUT/FILL depth analysis work?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,853
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 11 (257 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: Neilw

The excavation surface vs a 31m plane surface??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 11 (254 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: neilyj

I don't understand your scenario. I assumed you have a proposed surface and want to determine where the cuts are >2m vs. the existing. What do you have to work with?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,853
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: Neilw

Yes I have a proposed surface and I'm only really interested in the portion that is below rockhead and is higher than 2m above the platform level

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 11 (243 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: neilyj

In the ranges for the depth analysis, only include those values that fall within the desired parameters.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 7 of 11 (226 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 03:50 PM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj wrote:

The excavation surface vs a 31m plane surface??


No. Create a volume surface of your platform and your rock surface. Run an elevation analysis on the volume surface. Anywhere the elevation of the volume surface is greater than 2m is where you will need the protection. You can then stylize the volume surface and to display those areas automatically if the design changes.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 8 of 11 (222 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 04:11 PM in reply to: Neilw

I assumed you knew how to create a cut/fill analysis. My apology for not being more explicit.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,853
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (202 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-14-2012 12:25 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thanks Brian I'll try that ....

 

This will identify the locations where the rock netting is required but the next task is to compute the area of the rock face to be netted.

 

Perhaps draw a boundary around the affected areas, apply as outer boundary and review the 3D area surface properties??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
witzel
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 10 of 11 (186 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-14-2012 05:59 AM in reply to: neilyj

I just checked and I believe in the Legend table for volumes you can add 3d area or 2d area.  We use it all the time in the slopes legends to calculate sq footage of walls.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Conan Witzel

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.