AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 11 (269 Views)

Extent of rockfall netting

269 Views, 10 Replies
11-13-2012 12:08 PM

I have a model of a platform at 29.00m cut into rock and need to find  areas where the rock cut is 2m or more as this will require netting - any ideas of a quick way to do this??

 

 Extract the 31m contour and see where it runs is the best I've come up with......

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,322
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 11 (266 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: neilyj

Would not a CUT/FILL depth analysis work?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 11 (261 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: Neilw

The excavation surface vs a 31m plane surface??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,322
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 11 (258 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: neilyj

I don't understand your scenario. I assumed you have a proposed surface and want to determine where the cuts are >2m vs. the existing. What do you have to work with?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 11 (254 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: Neilw

Yes I have a proposed surface and I'm only really interested in the portion that is below rockhead and is higher than 2m above the platform level

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,322
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 11 (247 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: neilyj

In the ranges for the depth analysis, only include those values that fall within the desired parameters.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 7 of 11 (230 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 03:50 PM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj wrote:

The excavation surface vs a 31m plane surface??


No. Create a volume surface of your platform and your rock surface. Run an elevation analysis on the volume surface. Anywhere the elevation of the volume surface is greater than 2m is where you will need the protection. You can then stylize the volume surface and to display those areas automatically if the design changes.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,322
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 8 of 11 (226 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-13-2012 04:11 PM in reply to: Neilw

I assumed you knew how to create a cut/fill analysis. My apology for not being more explicit.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (206 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-14-2012 12:25 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thanks Brian I'll try that ....

 

This will identify the locations where the rock netting is required but the next task is to compute the area of the rock face to be netted.

 

Perhaps draw a boundary around the affected areas, apply as outer boundary and review the 3D area surface properties??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
witzel
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 10 of 11 (190 Views)

Re: Extent of rockfall netting

11-14-2012 05:59 AM in reply to: neilyj

I just checked and I believe in the Legend table for volumes you can add 3d area or 2d area.  We use it all the time in the slopes legends to calculate sq footage of walls.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Conan Witzel

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!