AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 11 of 19 (165 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-10-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Yes.  In the Toolspace, click on the Settings tab, right-click on the drawing name and choose Edit Drawing Settings...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

 

Once there, under the Units and Zone tab, set your coordinate system.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 12 of 19 (162 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-10-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: TRogers

You are on top of your game!

 

But, I don't have an exact match in any pulldowns, so it's still not jiving between the two. 

 

I need the geographic coordinate system to be:  GCS_North_American_1983

 

And the Projected Coordinate System to be:  NAD_1983_UTM_Zone_17N 

 

I can't find either, but I did find under Category in CAD:  UTM NAD83 Datum,  with the Description of NAD83(CSRS)/UTM zone 17N.  But that doesn't work either. 

 

What am I overlooking? 

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 13 of 19 (157 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-10-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 14 of 19 (153 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-10-2012 12:16 PM in reply to: TRogers

I still get the error below.  Then it asks me if I want to reproject. 

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,348
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 15 of 19 (151 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-10-2012 12:18 PM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

I don't know anything about ArcGIS.  That's a whole different ball game for me.  Sorry.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 16 of 19 (149 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-10-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: TRogers

You've been very helpful so far, thanks so much! 

 

I think it's time to take this conversation to a GIS forum. 

 

thanks again. 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 17 of 19 (133 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-11-2012 12:22 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

I guess Arcgis needs a .PRJ file, that's why you get that error, sir.

Unzip the attached one, rename the content to match the name of SHP/DBF/SHX files of your shapeset, and try again to load all in Arcgis.

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 18 of 19 (121 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-11-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Where do I save that file, and what do I use to open it? 

 

Thanks for jumping in. 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 19 of 19 (111 Views)

Re: Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

09-11-2012 02:32 PM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

A .PRJ is the fourth file of a shapeset, so you should unzip (renaming it) in the same folder of its fellows SHP/DBF/SHX.

Then in your Gis you load the .SHP as new layer, and automatically the remaining DBF/SHX/PRJ will be used, in order to place the data (geometry and attributes) on the Earth.

I advise you to read more about the shape format (standard in Gis environment) here, sir.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.