AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
tracey.boyle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 1 of 6 (511 Views)
Accepted Solution

Exporting curved feature lines and retaining the elevations

511 Views, 5 Replies
01-03-2013 09:25 AM

 

I have a series of curved feature lines in Civil 3D where the elevation varies along the length of the curve. When I export the file in AutoCAD the feature line elevations are 0. In my previous version of 2010 civil 3D this did not happen but now I am running 2012 version and I can't find a way around it.

 

Why does 2012 Civil 3D not export feature lines the way it did in previous versions and retain the elevations?

How can i overcome the issue?

 

Tracey

I can't say I remember that about 2010, but if you switch to a 3D view BEFORE you do the Export, the linework will have proper elevations.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,750
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 6 (493 Views)

Re: Exporting curved feature lines and retaining the elevations

01-03-2013 10:30 AM in reply to: tracey.boyle

I can't say I remember that about 2010, but if you switch to a 3D view BEFORE you do the Export, the linework will have proper elevations.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 3 of 6 (475 Views)

Re: Exporting curved feature lines and retaining the elevations

01-03-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: mathewk

I find the same problem, Matt. Exporting to autocad, the feature lines are supposed to convert to 3d or LW plines with elevations depending on what the FL was.

 

I get 0 elevations out.

 

It used to work and is "supposed" to work. A bug?

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 6 (463 Views)

Re: Exporting curved feature lines and retaining the elevations

01-03-2013 01:29 PM in reply to: ericcollins6932

I reported this to Autodesk Support a while back.  The story I got is that this behaviour is what the programmers originally intended.  If you export a drawing from a 2d viewpoint then you get 2d objects at zero elevation, or if you export from a 3d viewpoint then you get 3d objects.  Unfortunately they could not make the feature work correctly, so they disabled it, and left it defaulted to 3d export all the time.

 

Recently the underlying issue with featurelines was resolved, as part of the fix that allows us to have featurelines which display linetypes correctly.  Once that happened somebody turned the switch for the export option back on, but they didn't tell anyone else.

 

 

Active Member
Ienlov
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 5 of 6 (192 Views)

Re: Exporting curved feature lines and retaining the elevations

12-05-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: tracey.boyle

When I export in WORLD ucs the feature lines after export have a 0 elevation...

We need the feature line elevation in plan and not in 3d visualization, this bug happens after civil 3d 2012...

 

 

Somebody could help me?

 

 

Thanks

Ienlov

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 6 (186 Views)

Re: Exporting curved feature lines and retaining the elevations

12-05-2013 06:33 AM in reply to: Ienlov
Did you try the solution above?
You can always switch it back to a 2d plan view & World UCS after you do the export.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.