AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Paul_Ollett
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 1 of 31 (1,960 Views)

Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

1960 Views, 30 Replies
11-08-2012 09:15 PM

Hi there,

 

Is it possible to export a DTM (TIN surface) to ESRI's ASCII grid format (for ArcGIS)?

 

I've attached an example file.

 

Failing that, is it possible to export to a simple XYZ point file?

 

Cheers,

Paul.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,788
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 31 (1,941 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

11-09-2012 12:22 AM in reply to: Paul_Ollett

I'm not sure if this is possible - hopefully someone else will come in and prove me wrong...!!!

 

It is easy anough to produce a simple XYZ of the triangle points although the surface may not be exactly the same as the triangles are not exported.

 

Display the surface with points turned on and then Extract Objects > Points from the surface, then perform a data extraction or _MAPEXPORT on the Points direct to shp file (I've attached the dbf for one I just did)

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,669
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 31 (1,939 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

11-09-2012 03:03 AM in reply to: Paul_Ollett

If you already added your TIN to a surface definition, then create a Dem file with _SURFACEEXPORTTODEM, finally you convert the resulting .TIF (or .DEM) to .ASC format, by means of the opensource Microdem.

Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 4 of 31 (1,176 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 03:41 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Forgive me for resurrecting an old thread - is there still no direct way in 2014 to export a surface as an asc file from Civil 3D? I can't seem to find one.

 

Thanks,

 

Kevin

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,430
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 31 (1,169 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 04:59 AM in reply to: ksorsby
I'll have to double check this with my GIS people, but I've been giving them LandXML files for a while with no complaints.
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 6 of 31 (1,165 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 05:51 AM in reply to: rkmcswain
Thanks! I also don't have any issues with LandXML but I specifically need asc format files as that's what the flood modeller here requires.

Kevin
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 31 (1,160 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 08:11 AM in reply to: antoniovinci
I've found the Export to DEM tool is defective so it likely will not give satisfactory results. It may depend on your dataset however. Just be prepared to spend some time troubleshooting if you find the exported DEM is limited to a narrow band of data.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 8 of 31 (1,158 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 08:12 AM in reply to: rkmcswain
You can't import a LandXML surface into basic ArcGIS. Perhaps they have an extension or a more robust application.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 9 of 31 (1,155 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 08:17 AM in reply to: Neilw
That's why I need to export the surfaces as an asc file. You can import them fairly well, but I need to export them.
We don't use ArcGIS, just Mapinfo and QGIS.
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 10 of 31 (1,148 Views)

Re: Exporting a DTM (TIN) to ASCII Gid Format (ESRI - ArcGIS)

02-07-2014 10:25 AM in reply to: ksorsby

... no direct way in 2014 to export a surface as an asc file from Civil 3D.

 

Keep in mind that assuming your surface is likely TIN based it will have to be converted to a grid first (since the ESRI Ascii Grid Format is grid based).  So regardless you are going to end up with a grid interpretation of your TIN.

 

ESRI has a TIN format, I think its called "ArcInfo UnGenTIN (*.net)".  Our MapWorks Surfaces module it's currently a two step process to get to ASC, Surface Manager to export the TIN to a file, then Surface Convert to convert the TIN to an Ascii Grid.  As I typed that I realized we need to add the conversion to the surface manager (a minute wasted).

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.