AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
bydesign99
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2009
Message 1 of 5 (207 Views)

Exported ESRI Shape files gor corrupt after a few uses

207 Views, 4 Replies
09-03-2009 01:44 PM
Our GIS department inforomed me the other day that .shp files we have been exporting to them go corrupt after a few uses. Has anyone else had thi problem or know f a fix? Edited by: bydesign99 on Sep 3, 2009 8:44 PM
*Murph
Message 2 of 5 (207 Views)

Re: Exported ESRI Shape files gor corrupt after a few uses

09-03-2009 02:35 PM in reply to: bydesign99
Sounds like the GIS dept may not know how to property use the files. What
software are they opening the shp files in?


--
Murph
www.map3d.wordpress.com


"bydesign99" wrote in message news:6248880@discussion.autodesk.com...
Our GIS department inforomed me the other day that .shp files we have been
exporting to them go corrupt after a few uses. Has anyone else had thi
problem or know f a fix?

Edited by: bydesign99 on Sep 3, 2009 8:44 PM
Active Member
bydesign99
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2009
Message 3 of 5 (207 Views)

Re: Exported ESRI Shape files go corrupt after a few uses

09-03-2009 03:07 PM in reply to: bydesign99
They use ESRI version 9.3.1, we use Civil 3D 2010. Are there any special considerations for using exported shape files in ESRI? I think they may have been using the files directly to avoid file redundancies, but later had to import the data to keep it from corrupting. We frequently exchange data back and forth for a very large project, never had a problem with importing.
*Murph
Message 4 of 5 (207 Views)

Re: Exported ESRI Shape files go corrupt after a few uses

09-03-2009 03:32 PM in reply to: bydesign99
Saying they use ESRI version 9.3.1 is like you saying you use CAD 2010.
There's different "verticals" for the ESRI side of things also. The shp
format for GIS is a lot like the dxf format for CAD a standard format used
for compatibility between different software applications. I been using
exported shp files for years in AutoCAD Map3D/Civil3D and ESRI ArcMap,
ArcView, and Arc Explorer with no problems. What corruption problems are
they saying they have?

--
Murph
www.map3d.wordpress.com


"bydesign99" wrote in message news:6248933@discussion.autodesk.com...
They use ESRI version 9.3.1, we use Civil 3D 2010. Are there any special
considerations for using exported shape files in ESRI? I think they may
have been using the files directly to avoid file redundancies, but later had
to import the data to keep it from corrupting. We frequently exchange data
back and forth for a very large project, never had a problem with importing.
New Member
jamesb1162
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
Message 5 of 5 (207 Views)

Re: Exported ESRI Shape files gor corrupt after a few uses

10-22-2009 12:09 PM in reply to: bydesign99
I have had this problem before the fix is to select the data tab and check the box Create unique key field this will link the objects to the dbf file then ArcMap will read the data with no problem. The way to fix the other shape file you already made is to open the dbf file in excel and do one save this will fix the bad shape files that the GIS people are having problems with.

Good Luck
Jim
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.