AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 1 of 8 (593 Views)
Accepted Solution

Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

593 Views, 7 Replies
10-17-2012 02:38 PM

I need some help/direction setting up a routine to convert an entire project from Civil3d to Microstation... :smileysurprised:)

 

I've successfully found ways to map linetypes,lineweights,text,etc... for ONE self-contained file. Now I'm facing the prospect of doing this for many files that each contain xref's and dref's...

 

My approach with one file (thanks to various posters on these forums) was to export to autocad 2010 (which converted my C3D objects into polylines, etc.) and then to export that to a DGN with linestyles and layers/levels mapped appropriately...

 

Now... any suggestions on how to set this up for many files that reference each other in various ways? The export to dgn utility does successfully find the xref's and creates dgns out of them, but since it didn't export them to 2010 first, the objects end up as cells in the dgn (when I want simple cad lines). (It also doesn't handle data references in the x-ref'd files...) To make it more difficult... I can't export to 2010 anyway, because the x-ref's won't bind (because they still have objects in them..).

 

Help please!

 

thanks,

 

-d

 

I'm in 2011 with sp1 and sp2.

Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 2 of 8 (587 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-17-2012 03:07 PM in reply to: eladkcem

I think what I'm looking for is a routine that will:

 

1. Open a sheet file (a production dwg)

2. Check for x-ref's (surfaces, linework, etc.)

3. Open up each xref individually and export them to 2010 format (reducing surface objects to simple linework)

4. Export the sheet file to 2010.

5. Create xref's in the new 2010 version of the sheet file to each of the files created in step 3.

6. Export the 2010 version of the sheet file to a dgn (which will nicely create xref'd dgns)

 

-d

 

Seems simple enough right?  *sigh*

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 8 (579 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-17-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: eladkcem

I don't have any experience with the workflow you describe but I'd like to suggest something else if it is an option for you.

 

Since Microstation can open DWG files it will probably handle the workfow better as it can handle the conversion with XREF's and layouts to DGN. So my suggestion is as follows:

 

Export the C3D drawings to any <Format>.dwg that is compatible with a version of Microsation available downstream. Then open the converted files in Microstation and convert to DGN from there. It should convert and retain all the referenced files and layouts for you as well as applying additional entity and level mapping settings.

 

By the way, you do have some additional settings to control how a DWG is exported. Look on the AEC Editor tab in the Autocad Options settings.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 8 (568 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-17-2012 04:08 PM in reply to: eladkcem

That routine is in Civil3d: Batch export, but im sure you would have to promote all drefs prior to export

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 5 of 8 (560 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-17-2012 04:50 PM in reply to: Neilw

@ Neil:

 

I won't have access to Microstation... but this part of your post was very helpful:

 

By the way, you do have some additional settings to control how a DWG is exported. Look on the AEC Editor tab in the Autocad Options settings.

 

I de-selected the bind xrefs checkbox and then tried to export to 2010. voila! I now have a 2010 version of the drawing that STILL HAS THE XREF's from before (same file paths).

 

@ Joe:

The batch utility is helpful... it lets you create a new directory with all the converted files... but it doesn't change the x-ref paths... (all the converted drawings still xref the c3d files...)

 

I'm closer now! thanks guys...

 

-d

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 8 (552 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-17-2012 05:14 PM in reply to: eladkcem

eTransmit will remove all the paths from the XREFs. I think you'll have to run it after exporting to Autocad first.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 7 of 8 (549 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-17-2012 05:28 PM in reply to: Neilw

I haven't tried etransmit yet, but I did mostly find a solution:

 

I set up my drawings to use RELATIVE paths for the xrefs.

Then with the batch convert to autoCAD utility I create a copy of the entire project directory in a new location.

These new files now miraculously reference each other. Then with a DGNExport on the sheet files (which can automatically find and convert the referenced files now that they are also autoCAD and not c3d files) I end up with a dgn sheet file with dgn references. AND the surfaces have been converted to linework which is how the client will eventually want it...

 

Thanks again forums!

 

-d

 

mostly a solution? yeah... the data references have to be promoted first or they'll get dropped out of the process..

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 563
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 8 of 8 (516 Views)

Re: Export to DGN... with drefs and xrefs...

10-18-2012 05:25 AM in reply to: eladkcem

If your client wants the object data from your Civil 3D objects, GeoPak supports LandXML file import.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.