AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
ozaukeelandwater
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 1 of 7 (1,180 Views)

Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

1180 Views, 6 Replies
12-15-2009 08:24 AM
I am trying to map export shapefiles to arcmap, but it keeps telling me export did not succeed. Any suggestions?? Thank you.
*John Mayo
Message 2 of 7 (1,180 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-15-2009 08:37 AM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13251791&linkID=9240697

This may help. There is another I don't have time right now..

--
John Mayo, PE

Core i7 920 6GB DDR3
Radeon 4870HD 1 GB
Vista64
*Murph
Message 3 of 7 (1,180 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-15-2009 02:03 PM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
Are they basic AutoCAD lines or Civil 3D objects?

--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"Ozaukeelandwater" wrote in message news:6305119@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am trying to map export shapefiles to arcmap, but it keeps telling me
export did not succeed. Any suggestions?? Thank you.
Contributor
ozaukeelandwater
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 4 of 7 (1,180 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-15-2009 02:19 PM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
The lines are polyline (2D polyline).
*Murph
Message 5 of 7 (1,180 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-16-2009 04:57 AM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
File location and name, set the file location close to the C:\\ not buried
in a wad of subfolders, give the file a simple name like ABC.shp
Then of course you read John Mayo's reply right, and you are selection line
as the type of export and selecting objects not on a locked layer. What
attribute information are you exporting with the lines? Is the dwg a newer
dwg or a old dwg that's been around for years? Are the polylines lwplines?
Might try running the convert command if they are the old style polylines.

--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"Ozaukeelandwater" wrote in message news:6305376@discussion.autodesk.com...
The lines are polyline (2D polyline).
New Member
mkapono
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,126 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-16-2010 05:52 PM in reply to: *Murph

Hi there:

 

John Mayo's referenced post (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?si​teID=123112&id=13251791&linkID=9240697) could not be located in the Discussion archive. I have a post on the Autodesk EduComm board regarding interoperability of Student version Civil 3D and ESRI ArcMap via widget from ESRI. Is aforementioned reference still available?

Thanks from a newb to the boards. -- Mark

 

________________________________________________
T400-2764CTO
Intel T9400x2@2.53GHz 4GB
Radeon HD 3400
MSVista x86
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 7 of 7 (366 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

11-30-2012 10:19 PM in reply to: *Murph

Not sure why, but I got the same error message late this evening...

 

moving my target directory close to c:/  solved the problem...

 

Thanks murph.

 

-d

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.