AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
ozaukeelandwater
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 1 of 7 (1,200 Views)

Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

1200 Views, 6 Replies
12-15-2009 08:24 AM
I am trying to map export shapefiles to arcmap, but it keeps telling me export did not succeed. Any suggestions?? Thank you.
*John Mayo
Message 2 of 7 (1,200 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-15-2009 08:37 AM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13251791&linkID=9240697

This may help. There is another I don't have time right now..

--
John Mayo, PE

Core i7 920 6GB DDR3
Radeon 4870HD 1 GB
Vista64
*Murph
Message 3 of 7 (1,200 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-15-2009 02:03 PM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
Are they basic AutoCAD lines or Civil 3D objects?

--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"Ozaukeelandwater" wrote in message news:6305119@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am trying to map export shapefiles to arcmap, but it keeps telling me
export did not succeed. Any suggestions?? Thank you.
Contributor
ozaukeelandwater
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 4 of 7 (1,200 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-15-2009 02:19 PM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
The lines are polyline (2D polyline).
*Murph
Message 5 of 7 (1,200 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-16-2009 04:57 AM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater
File location and name, set the file location close to the C:\\ not buried
in a wad of subfolders, give the file a simple name like ABC.shp
Then of course you read John Mayo's reply right, and you are selection line
as the type of export and selecting objects not on a locked layer. What
attribute information are you exporting with the lines? Is the dwg a newer
dwg or a old dwg that's been around for years? Are the polylines lwplines?
Might try running the convert command if they are the old style polylines.

--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"Ozaukeelandwater" wrote in message news:6305376@discussion.autodesk.com...
The lines are polyline (2D polyline).
New Member
mkapono
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,146 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

12-16-2010 05:52 PM in reply to: *Murph

Hi there:

 

John Mayo's referenced post (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?si​teID=123112&id=13251791&linkID=9240697) could not be located in the Discussion archive. I have a post on the Autodesk EduComm board regarding interoperability of Student version Civil 3D and ESRI ArcMap via widget from ESRI. Is aforementioned reference still available?

Thanks from a newb to the boards. -- Mark

 

________________________________________________
T400-2764CTO
Intel T9400x2@2.53GHz 4GB
Radeon HD 3400
MSVista x86
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 7 of 7 (386 Views)

Re: Export lines as shapefiles to ArcMap

11-30-2012 10:19 PM in reply to: *Murph

Not sure why, but I got the same error message late this evening...

 

moving my target directory close to c:/  solved the problem...

 

Thanks murph.

 

-d

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.