AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
javent
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 1 of 22 (3,658 Views)
Accepted Solution

export cross section data?

3658 Views, 21 Replies
06-09-2010 02:50 PM
I am using Civil3D 2010. I am trying to export the offset/elevation data from my cross sections to a text file or excel file so i can paste the info into another program. so far i've been labeling the offset/elevation info on the section and typing it into excel by hand. Any suggestions?

You can copy values from the section editor. 

 

Select and right click the section line > Edit section.  Right click the table and Copy All.  Paste onto excel and delete the columns you don't need.

 

HTH

Harold

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 2 of 22 (3,618 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

06-10-2010 05:51 AM in reply to: javent

You can copy values from the section editor. 

 

Select and right click the section line > Edit section.  Right click the table and Copy All.  Paste onto excel and delete the columns you don't need.

 

HTH

Harold

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 3 of 22 (3,583 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

06-10-2010 08:21 AM in reply to: javent

What is your other application?

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Contributor
javent
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 4 of 22 (3,580 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

06-10-2010 08:24 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

Using SewerGEMS to do a drainage study & I have to input cross section data.  Now I can paste the data into excel, then copy and paste what I need into SewerGEMS.  Now if I could just get my SewerGEMS model to run, I'd be happy, but I guess that's a discussion for another forum. . .

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 5 of 22 (3,576 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

06-10-2010 08:28 AM in reply to: javent

Why SewerGEMS?     Could you elaborate your decision to select SewerGEMS?

 

Have you tried the Autodesk Storm and Sanitary Analysis package yet?  While I can't help you run SewerGEMS,  you might find SSA a bit easier to use. 

 

 

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Contributor
javent
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 6 of 22 (3,572 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

06-10-2010 08:32 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

The client has SewerGEMS and they want to be able to run the model.  I'm creating it and develping solutions, they're going to maintain it.  Are you talking about the HydraFlow extensions, or is SSA something different?

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 7 of 22 (3,569 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

06-10-2010 08:44 AM in reply to: javent

SSA is the former BOSS StormNET, so it is something different that Hydraflow.   For a comparison ( since you are using a Bentley package), you can take SewerGEMS, StormCAD, CIvilStorm, PondPack, etal in one analysis package.  It is a subscription site download and it requires Civil 3d 2011 to be installed.  It runs as a standalone package,  but Autodesk has been able to tweak the package so that it talks to Civil 3d using the Hydraflow STM format.  

 

I would love to hear your feedback after you try it.

 

Feel free to email me if you have any questions about SSA. 

first.last at jaseng dot com

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Member
sschreiber
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 8 of 22 (2,674 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

11-03-2011 07:16 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

This isnt working in C3D. I cant find the section editor.

Contributor
gerrykroberts
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-14-2006
Message 9 of 22 (2,384 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

05-10-2012 10:50 PM in reply to: javent

Dear Harold_Alberto,

Of coarse in case of having one cross section your note works perfectly. But in my case that i have more than One hundred cross sections what’s going on?

Any thoughts will be highly appreciated.

 

Gerry

 

 

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 10 of 22 (2,372 Views)

Re: export cross section data?

05-11-2012 01:45 AM in reply to: gerrykroberts

HI Gerry,

 

From version 2011 and above, you can use the Feature Lines report.

 

Harold

 

Cross section report.jpg

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.