Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export Contours from the surface using Genio exporter

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
oreillysea
542 Views, 4 Replies

Export Contours from the surface using Genio exporter

Hi All

I'm only new to C3D and need to output the contours my surface model to a genio for use in Mx. I have the Genio exporter tool installed but when i output the genio all that appears is the Boundary line without the contours, which when i think about it makes sense as the surface contours is more a display option rather than actual contours. Is there a way of exporting the contours via genio.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

S

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
wfberry
in reply to: oreillysea

I know nothing about Genio.  Perhaps you could save your file under a new name, explode the surface to get to polylines, then use them.  You may have to explode twice, I don't remember.

Bill

Message 3 of 5
neilyj666
in reply to: oreillysea

I'm not in front of civil right now but will look at the options in work tomorrow unless someone comes up with the solution for you by then. ..

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

AEC Collection 2024 UKIE (mainly Civil 3D UKIE and IW)
Win 11 Pro x64, 1Tb Primary SSD, 1Tb Secondary SSD
64Gb RAM Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-11855M CPU @ 3.2GHz
NVIDIA RTX A5000 16Gb, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell Inspiron 7760
Message 4 of 5

I just tested the GENIO exporter and unfortunately it looks like it only exports the boundary of surfaces, which makes it pretty useless for surfaces.