AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 1 of 4 (344 Views)
Accepted Solution

Export a TIN?

344 Views, 3 Replies
01-10-2014 06:45 AM

Is it possible to export a TIN file so a GIS user can use it with some Carlson software? He's having trouble using .XML's or DEM's.  If I could find where ACAD stores the .TIN file for my surface, I'd just send that to him.  Any ideas?  I'm out of my league here...

 

 

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (342 Views)

Re: Export a TIN?

01-10-2014 06:49 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Use the LandXML export, Carlson will be able to read the surface from it.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,109
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 4 (316 Views)

Re: Export a TIN?

01-10-2014 08:18 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Civil3d has no external file where the TIN is stored, everything is inside the dwg.  If your GIS user is unable to use xml for some reason then you could extract the triangles from the surface, copy & paste those into an empty drawing and send him that file.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

 

 

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 4 of 4 (303 Views)

Re: Export a TIN?

01-10-2014 09:24 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD
I'm with Terry - I've successfully brought LandXML surfaces from C3D into Carlson before...
Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.