AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
lgs663
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 1 of 5 (2,224 Views)

explode an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY

2224 Views, 4 Replies
09-27-2010 12:25 PM

i have a drawing i recieved from some one else - that has an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY in it that i cannot edit or explode or erase or change layer - any one know how i might be able to do this?

thanks

lgs

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 5 (2,221 Views)

Re: explode an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY

09-27-2010 12:32 PM in reply to: lgs663

You need to go back to the person that gave you the drawing or get the OE for the object. The object is a proxy because the version of AutoCAD that you are using doesn't know about the object or how to draw it. Without this information, it can't be exploded into AutoCAD entities.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
Nikki2005
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Message 3 of 5 (911 Views)

Re: explode an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY

09-10-2013 09:57 AM in reply to: lgs663

I am using the 2013 Version of AutoCAD and I am still having this issue, what is an OE so that I can have the original creater of the file send it to me?

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 5 (901 Views)

Re: explode an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY

09-10-2013 11:17 AM in reply to: Nikki2005

"OE" stands for object enabler.  Essentially, its an add-on to AutoCAD-based programs that interprets data from custom objects created by vertical products like Civil3D as well as some third-party applications while not giving access to modify those objects.  The version of the object enabler is important, and should match or exceed the version of the custom objects in the DWG.  Note this is *not* the DWG version, but a separate value.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 5 (897 Views)

Re: explode an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY

09-10-2013 12:30 PM in reply to: Nikki2005

Adding to the other comments, if you watch the command line when loading the drawing, it should report the missing application that was used to create the objects. Once you know that you can look for the appropriate enabler on the ADESK website.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.