AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
Post 1 of 7

Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

236 Views, 6 Replies
03-21-2014 06:38 AM

Hi All,

 

I've just started work as an estimator and I'm new to CAD. I have a contour map on AutoCAD Civil 3D with contour lines. How would I be able to use AutoCad to estimate the quantities of fill that I can obtain for the site? Lets say that the highest elevation is 20 feet and I want to bring the site down to 10ft?

 

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
2,799 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 2 of 7

Re: Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

03-21-2014 08:05 AM in reply to: 012576945
You need to create a surface using the contours you see. This would be your existing ground surgace.

Then you need to create a design surface probably using feature lines and grading.

Now you have 2 surfaces and you'll be able to use the volumes dashboard to calculate volumes.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
Post 3 of 7

Re: Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

03-21-2014 09:17 AM in reply to: mathewk

Hi Matthew,

 

Can you please PM me? I'm really new to CAD and I probably need a walkthru if you have time.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
2,799 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 4 of 7

Re: Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

03-21-2014 09:21 AM in reply to: 012576945

That kind of tutorial may be little beyond the scope of this discussion group.  At least, it's beyond the time I have available at this moment.  There are tutorials available in the user's Guide to help you unless someone else in here has the time to help you.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
Post 5 of 7

Re: Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

03-21-2014 09:23 AM in reply to: 012576945
Thanks Matthew,

I'll look through the tutorials and see where I go from there.
Disclaimer - BHM Co Ltd

This email, its content and any attachments, is private and may be confidential. This email is for the intended recipient only and is the property of BHM Co Ltd. Any views or opinions presented are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of BHM Co Ltd. If this email contains any material of explicit or distasteful nature then please send a copy of the email to info@bhm.bs for the matter to be investigated.

If you are not the intended recipient, you must not deal with it in any way and are prohibited from using, printing, copying, distributing or disseminating this email or any information contained in it. In such case please notify us by telephone and confirm it has been deleted from your system and copies destroyed.

This email has been swept by for the presence of computer viruses, but no warranty is given that this email and any attachments are virus free. You should undertake your own virus checking. The right to monitor email communications through our network is reserved by us.
*Expert Elite*
2,799 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 6 of 7

Re: Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

03-21-2014 09:56 AM in reply to: 012576945

This is a link which shows how to make a surface from contours.  It's tough to suggest any tutorial for your design surface without spending time with it to see your exact needs. Here is a link for grading tutorials.

 

if you've never taken a course, it would probably be worth taking a 3 or 4 days class if this is your job from now on.  You could ask the instructor more specific questions about your project while you're there.

 

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Mentor
337 Posts
36 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Post 7 of 7

Re: Estimating Fill Quantities From AutoCAD

03-21-2014 10:14 AM in reply to: 012576945

I suggest working through the following tutorial

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2012/ENU/filesCTU/GUID-20DD4422-EC0D-4537-870F-96C62AD6679-60.htm

 

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post