Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

entering degree symbol when entering long/lat

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
kmcqueen
1043 Views, 7 Replies

entering degree symbol when entering long/lat

I am new to Civil. Been using AutoCAD since R11. How do you enter the degrees symbol when entering long/lats using the transparent commands ('LL) in Civil 3D 2005. I tried the mechanical way 45d15'34" but didn't work. The command line shows the example with the degree symbol being used.
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: kmcqueen

Input for Lat/Long data is to be entered in DD.MMSSSS format. So (a) the digigts infront of the decimal expalins degrees, (b) digits in the place of MM after decimal stands for minutes and (c) then first two digits in SS stands for whole seconds and any following dists in SSSSSSS are decimal fractions of seconds. This procedure is similar to LDT! So if you want to type 45 degrees 15 minutes and 34 seconds - please enter them as shown below: Please specify a location for the new point: '_LL Current lat/long unit: degree, Input: DD.MMSSSS (decimal dms) >>Enter latitude : 45.1534 The above will be taken in as Thanks Chakri "kmcqueen" wrote in message news:19231065.1099367847144.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > I am new to Civil. Been using AutoCAD since R11. How do you enter the degrees symbol when entering long/lats using the transparent commands ('LL) in Civil 3D 2005. I tried the mechanical way 45d15'34" but didn't work. The command line shows the example with the degree symbol being used.
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous