AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 1 of 8 (508 Views)

End of Corridor

508 Views, 7 Replies
08-31-2011 11:52 AM
Haven't really done to much with corridors, not sure best way to tie the end of the corridor into existing ground. See image
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,426
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 8 (494 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

08-31-2011 01:02 PM in reply to: sjg

One method is to draw a featureline along the end of the corridor and use a grading to the EG. 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,756
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 8 (458 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

09-01-2011 02:20 AM in reply to: sjg
Sjg, that depends. By your image it looks like your road just ends, perhaps to be continued ar a future date. Is this the case? Or is it supposed to tie back into an existing road which maybe isn't shown. Your answer depends on what you want to do there.

In most cases I just leave it as-is without bothering to do any cleanup. The extra work is often pointless unless it's your intent to render this project or if you NEED finished contours.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 4 of 8 (450 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

09-01-2011 06:19 AM in reply to: mathewk
We are going to show it as possible future extension, but most likely will never be extended. So I would like to show finished contours
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,756
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 8 (443 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

09-01-2011 07:06 AM in reply to: sjg
Then Jeff's suggestion is about all you can do. It's pretty much what happens in the field anyway. Paste the corridor and grading surfaces into a new composite surface for your finished model.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 8 (407 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

09-02-2011 09:44 AM in reply to: mathewk

I have used a M&O sub on the end set to match slope and 0.0001 thickness.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 8 (398 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

09-02-2011 10:09 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Aside from using a grading you can also treat the end like an intersection by creating an alignment representing the end of the road, sampling the corridor surface and either applying an assembly to the alignment or create a grading from a featureline generated from the alignment+profile. It's probably a prohibitive amount of work but it is an option.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 8 of 8 (393 Views)

Re: End of Corridor

09-02-2011 10:28 AM in reply to: Neilw
I will probably just go with Jeff' suggestion and generate a feature line and gradings.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.