AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
J.Wanjohi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
Message 1 of 4 (518 Views)

EARTHWORKS COMPUTATION & ELEVATION BANDING

518 Views, 3 Replies
01-31-2013 11:52 PM

In Civil 3D 2010, how does one output the volume of earthworks in terms of elevation bands of for example 1.5m?

 

Using the TIN volume surface, I've already established the total volume of earthworks (cut). However, as I have pointed out earlier, the data is required in terms of elevation bands of 1.5m

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 4 (484 Views)

Re: EARTHWORKS COMPUTATION & ELEVATION BANDING

02-01-2013 07:54 AM in reply to: J.Wanjohi
Assign an elevation banding style then
Edit the surface properties, analysis tab, and set up the elevation analysis with as many ranges as you wish in your 1.5m interval.

There should be a help article about elevation analyses if you're unsure.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Contributor
Maine-iac
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎10-15-2009
Message 3 of 4 (466 Views)

Re: EARTHWORKS COMPUTATION & ELEVATION BANDING

02-01-2013 02:23 PM in reply to: J.Wanjohi

Create another TIN surface using the rectangular “0” layer polyline you have in the drawing already.

Use the “0” z axis polyline as a contour to build your flat surface. Call it “Cut”.

Once you have created that surface, pick on it to highlight it. While it is highlighted, your tool ribbon should flip to the TIN surface command set. In the “Analyze” section, click on “Volumes”. This brings up the “Composite Volumes” panorama screen. The top left icon is the “Create new volume entry”, click on that and select your “volume surface” as your base and your “Cut” surface as your comparison surface.

This will first show a 2.3 cu M cut and a 17559 cu M fill.

Leave this screen up and go back up to your “Modify” surface ribbon command area, select on the “Edit surface” drop down and select “Raise/Lower surface”.  In your command line window area you should see a prompt “Amount to add to all elevations”, put in -1.5 and hit enter, to drop your cut surface by 1.5 meters. Now go back to your Composite Volumes screen and re-pick your “volume surface” in the base surface selection area. This will update your cut volume to 441.84 cu Meters. Keep repeating this raise/lower surface and refreshing your composite volumes screen to get the cumulative cut volumes.

Somewhere between a cut of -12 meters and -13.5 meters is the 17,559 cu Meters that your Volume Surface shows in its surface properties statistics tab. Hope this works for you.

Gotta go, it' Miller time.

Civil 3D 2011
Windows 7 Prof. x64
HP Z400 Workstation
Intel(R) Xenon(R) CPU
W3550 @ 3.07GHz
6.00 GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 4 (457 Views)

Re: EARTHWORKS COMPUTATION & ELEVATION BANDING

02-01-2013 09:28 PM in reply to: Maine-iac

A volume surface will show you the DEPTH of cut and fill and can't be used very well for calculating what the cut or fill will be at a specific elevation.

 

HERE is a method I came up with to calculate the volumes at specific elevations. It was used to calculate the filling curve for a mine. Perhaps you'll be able to adjust it to what you are trying to accomplish.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.