AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 4 (298 Views)
Accepted Solution

Drop-down Layer Control not alphabatized

298 Views, 3 Replies
10-24-2012 04:41 PM

Any ideas how I can get my drop-down Layer Control to alphabatize layer names?  The listing of layer names is appears random to me:

 

Layer Control drop-down.jpg

 

When I open the Layer Properties dialouge box the layer names are alphatized by name, so that works, but it doesn't translate over to Layer Control.

 

John Thoreson
C3D 2013

maxsort

Yeah, the variable "maxsort" needs to be set to something higher. I think the default is 1000 but if you use lots of xref's then you can obviously have more layers than that.

MAXSORT was it!  It upped it to 2000 and presto, the Layer Control drop-down was alphabatized again.  Thanks!

Contributor
bradpowell
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-14-2007
Message 2 of 4 (296 Views)

Re: Drop-down Layer Control not alphabatized

10-24-2012 05:02 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

maxsort

Brad Powell
CAD Coordinator
Cardno
Win 7 64bit Enterprise
Civil 3D 2011 64bit
Mentor
dasindog
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 3 of 4 (266 Views)

Re: Drop-down Layer Control not alphabatized

10-25-2012 05:18 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

Yeah, the variable "maxsort" needs to be set to something higher. I think the default is 1000 but if you use lots of xref's then you can obviously have more layers than that.

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 4 of 4 (245 Views)

Re: Drop-down Layer Control not alphabatized

10-25-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: johnthoreson

MAXSORT was it!  It upped it to 2000 and presto, the Layer Control drop-down was alphabatized again.  Thanks!

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!