AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
george.skinner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Message 1 of 7 (211 Views)

draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

211 Views, 6 Replies
01-18-2013 11:56 AM

I have a very frequent need to draw lines that radiate out from a point on different bearings and distances. I think of this as a sideshot.

                             _\/_

                                |

 

Civil 3D’s sideshot command acts differently. It draws lines between the radial end points.

 

                               /\

                                |

 

Do you know what command is needed to do what I want? It is not the Create Line by Side Shot command.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,357
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 7 (203 Views)

Re: draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

01-18-2013 12:31 PM in reply to: george.skinner

Can't you do Line by Bearing and have the starting point of your line be the Node of the point?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
george.skinner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Message 3 of 7 (196 Views)

Re: draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

01-18-2013 01:06 PM in reply to: TRogers

I have not had success in entering bearings and distances one right after the other as I want the station point to stay the same. I have to re-start the Line by Bearing command each time, hitting return doesn't re-start this command. I have to go back up to the ribbon and drill down all over again.

 

In Land Desktop you could do radial sideshots, Eagle Point too. I thought I was missing something in Civil 3D.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,450
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 7 (192 Views)

Re: draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

01-18-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: george.skinner

What is the end result that you need the radial lines to be drawn for? 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Member
george.skinner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-18-2013
Message 5 of 7 (185 Views)

Re: draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

01-18-2013 01:53 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

When drawing a plat it is common to have several lot lines of different bearings and lengths radiating from the end of another lot line.

Mentor
mikehathaway2942
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎10-13-2009
Message 6 of 7 (183 Views)

Re: draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

01-18-2013 01:55 PM in reply to: george.skinner

While I cant say I have had the need to do this and if I did I would simply start over each time by drawing a line by brg and dist from the main point.

 

That said, I do see what you mean in Civil3d with the Sideshot command and as near as I can tell there is no one command in Civil3d that would meet your expectations.

Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 7 of 7 (174 Views)

Re: draw lines by "sideshot" but not Civil 3D _LINE 'SS

01-18-2013 02:34 PM in reply to: george.skinner

If line by bearing and distance works for you, you can simply type LINE or L to start, pick the start point and then enter 'BD to enter bearing and distance input. That is what I do instead of drilling down the menu/ribbon.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.