AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 11 of 23 (223 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-02-2013 01:03 PM in reply to: Neilw

The 45 minutes was just to convert the points. But exporting the point file, conversion and creating a Surface from the converted point file doesn't take to long. Maybe 10 minutes of less.

 

You might be able to get a point file quicker using Data Extraction. I was going to take lunch anyway so I thought I'd let it run and see if it would create the points. BTW. Make sure that point creation is set to Automatic for Elevation and None for description.

 

Allen

Mentor
tyronebk
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 12 of 23 (205 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-05-2013 08:17 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

It is possible to non-uniformly transform a Civil 3D surface. Assuming the end result you are looking for is just a surface (or DEM/XML file extracted from a surface) then you can:

- turn the surface into a block (be sure to turn on non-uniform scaling and exploding)

- scale the block Z by 3.28084 (or as needed)

- explode the block

- if you look at the surface definition, a transformation has taken place (although the values given for the transformation are not useful to identify what has actually happened) and the elevations are now scaled

- note that this is a copy of the surface; the original surface is in the block definition; purge the block to get rid of the original

 

I'm not sure this is exactly what you are looking for but it does create a usable surface. If you are attempting to scale surfaces with a vary large number of points your results may vary.

 

This same non-uniform scaling can also be done with a bit of programming to bypass having to use a block. Extremely large surfaces can be adjusted in a few seconds with this method.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 13 of 23 (199 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-05-2013 08:50 PM in reply to: tyronebk

When it comes to DEM's, the size of the dataset makes any multistep process prohibitive. We really need a way to either pre-process the data before building the TIN or simultaneously transform it during processing.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 14 of 23 (185 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: tyronebk

tyronebk wrote:

- scale the block Z by 3.28084 (or as needed).


That might work going from meters to feet within the same system and could have worked after I brought the data in to our current system. But it won't work going from one system to another. I'd have to test it against one that was already transformed to see. Transformation from one system to another involves more than a scale factor.

I'm happier exporting the points from UTM and using Corpscon to do the transformation. The files the Army Corps of Engineers developed for Corpscon are the same ones that Autodesk uses for transformations in Map and Civil in the U.S anyway.

 

Thanks for the suggestion.

Allen

Mentor
tyronebk
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 15 of 23 (168 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

All I was trying to state is that if you have already transformed the XY then all you need to do is correct the Z. The non-uniform block scales the Z and leaves the XY at 1.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,938
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 16 of 23 (160 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: tyronebk

Yes. That would work in that case. I didn't mean to sound dismissive. I'm just finicky about using the proper transformation. We're going to be melding this with Survey later so I don't want to have to adjust much.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 17 of 23 (145 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 02:00 PM in reply to: tyronebk

When I first saw your post I assumed you were suggesting exploding the surface, making the graphics into a block, rescaling the Z factor, exploding again and recreating the surface from the graphics. That process would take far too long.

 

Looking again more closely I see now you are just making the surface into a block, rescaling the Z factor then exploding it. That sounds like a doable workaround. I'll run some tests when I get some time.

 

Great idea.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-15-2012
Message 18 of 23 (133 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 06:24 PM in reply to: Neilw
Along the same line, maybe saving one step, could be to bring the surface in and set it to a display style that exaggerates the elevation by the 3.28084, then explode it (twice) and rebuild a new one off the lines/points/contours/whatever.
Save the block making steps, but I guess pretty much the same.
Valued Contributor
MATRIX3DSURVEYS
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎08-18-2005
Message 19 of 23 (129 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 07:39 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Use Global Mapper to convert the file to the required datum, projection, and units.

 

Set coordinate System in GM

Load Source file

Export elevation grid format. USGS DEM

Set output units on options tab

 

Creates a 1meg point file in 45 seconds.

 

Jim

Matrix3DSurveys

 

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 20 of 23 (123 Views)

Re: Does C3D 2014 do vertical transformations?

08-06-2013 09:29 PM in reply to: MATRIX3DSURVEYS

As far as I know, Global Mapper does not support NED. Can you confirm that it does?

 

I've spent quite a bit of time looking for a utility that can transform NED files. If anyone knows of one, please pass it on.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.