AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
smcgeomatics
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-22-2013
Message 1 of 9 (395 Views)

Do you really want to do this?

395 Views, 8 Replies
11-28-2013 11:41 AM

I have searched all related posts and haven't found any solutions. I recently reinstalled Civil 3d and now when I open a previous drawing I am working on it comes up with the prompt: "do you really want to do this? Yes or No"

 

In the command line before this it says 10126 selected.

I can hit enter to select N/No but the same prompt comes up. if I type YES the program freezes.

 

I have opened by Recover and saved it.

I can't run AUDIT or QSELECT because it only asks for a valid response to the original prompt.

 

Service pack 1 is installed. I am running 2014.

 

Valued Mentor
Ajilal.Vijayan
Posts: 439
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Message 2 of 9 (347 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

11-29-2013 02:49 AM in reply to: smcgeomatics

smcgeomatics wrote:

I have searched all related posts and haven't found any solutions.

 

In the command line before this it says 10126 selected.

 


A quick google search gives the same issue was happening because of 

Associative Hatch was using an Xreference Object as the boundary.

 

As you said the command line says 10126 objects selected ,have you tried to see whether this happens due to Associative hatch ?

Active Member
smcgeomatics
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-22-2013
Message 3 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-02-2013 07:30 PM in reply to: Ajilal.Vijayan

ajilal.vijayan wrote:

 

As you said the command line says 10126 objects selected ,have you tried to see whether this happens due to Associative hatch ?



How do I do that?

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 4 of 9 (255 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-03-2013 07:06 AM in reply to: smcgeomatics

Try renaming the xref(s) and then opening the offending drawing. You should be able to remove the associativity from the hatch in the properties window. After you get it fixed, you obviously need to change the xref name(s) back to the original.

Mentor
Nik-D
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 5 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-03-2013 09:21 AM in reply to: smcgeomatics

Do you have any custom LISP proceedures that you use?

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,919
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 9 (225 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-03-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: smcgeomatics

Can you insert the problem drawing into a new drawing?

 

Allen

Active Member
smcgeomatics
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-22-2013
Message 7 of 9 (199 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-03-2013 05:47 PM in reply to: Nik-D

Nik-D wrote:

Do you have any custom LISP proceedures that you use?


No.

Mentor
Nik-D
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 8 of 9 (191 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-03-2013 08:32 PM in reply to: smcgeomatics

When you say the program freezes when you press enter,. how long have you left the machine for to "do its thing"? Maybe its still trying to do whaterver and you have misinterpreted it as freezing? Its also very possible that its frozen :smileyhappy:

 

Do you have an earlier version of the software that you can open the drawing with?

 

Can you XREF the drawing into another drawing and bind it?

 

Do you have any Data shortcuts setup with this drawing if so have you used the shortcut editor to make sure that all the links are correct?

 

Can you post the drawing here or put it in a cloud folder and put the link here?

Valued Mentor
Ajilal.Vijayan
Posts: 439
Registered: ‎01-12-2008
Message 9 of 9 (186 Views)

Re: Do you really want to do this?

12-03-2013 09:18 PM in reply to: smcgeomatics
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.