AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
dkdzyn
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-21-2012
Message 1 of 8 (3,040 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

3040 Views, 7 Replies
09-28-2012 12:10 PM

I have created a TIN surface from polyline contour data in Civil3D 2013. My file shows shows that the surface is present both in the Prospector and when I float over the surface and will preview. I assigned a style to the surface, which for my uses is displaying minors at 1' and majors at 10'. My problem is that the contours only display sometimes. That is to say, SOMETIMES I open the file and I can see the surface contours and other times it simply will not display them. There has been NO change to the layer (on, visible and not frozen) nor to the style (not assigned as not showing or any different color) between current and the time I used the file last. Occasionally, when I restart my machine, the contours will display for a few hours worth of work, but when I return the next day, or after a hang, restart my machine again, the contours simply will not show. If I add "show triangles" in the style definition, the triangels will show every time, but not the contours. This is SO frustrating.

 

In an effort to find some remedy an engineer firend suggested I changed my RAM from 2- 4GB DIMMs to 2- 8GB DIMMS giving me a total of 16GB of RAM, which I did, but it doesn't seem to have made any appreciable difference in performance and the contours still don't show. Does ANYONE have any ideas about why this may be occuring?

 

Thanks in advance

Darin Kirschner

Civil3D 2013
MacBookPro 17 - 2.4GHz Intel QuadCore i7 (Late 2011 build)
Microsoft Windows 7 64bit
350GB Bootcamp volume

Do you have level of detail switched on (under view ribbon I think)?

This sounds like Level of Detail is toggled ON. Try toggling it off.

 

9-28-2012 12-13-20 PM.png

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 8 (3,038 Views)

Re: Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

09-28-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: dkdzyn

Do you have level of detail switched on (under view ribbon I think)?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,483
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 8 (3,035 Views)

Re: Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

09-28-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: dkdzyn

This sounds like Level of Detail is toggled ON. Try toggling it off.

 

9-28-2012 12-13-20 PM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Member
dkdzyn
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-21-2012
Message 4 of 8 (3,032 Views)

Re: Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

09-28-2012 12:15 PM in reply to: neilyj

Hey! I didn't know about that... That seems to have worked. I'll have to see if it sticks.

 

THANK YOU!

Darin Kirschner

Civil3D 2013
MacBookPro 17 - 2.4GHz Intel QuadCore i7 (Late 2011 build)
Microsoft Windows 7 64bit
350GB Bootcamp volume
Active Contributor
jeremy.2012
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 5 of 8 (2,959 Views)

Re: Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

10-01-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: dkdzyn

I just had the same problem and that seem to be the fix!! Thanks!

 

Does turning off your level of detail just affect .tin surfaces?

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 8 (2,944 Views)

Re: Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

10-01-2012 11:25 AM in reply to: jeremy.2012

I think so - see http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/05/autocad-civil-3d-2012-preview-surface-level-of-detai...

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Member
mdbutikofer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-11-2010
Message 7 of 8 (2,756 Views)

Re: Disappearing & re-appearing contour style

01-22-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks.  I have been beating my head against the wall with this problem.  I toggles off level of detail and it solved the problem right away.

 

Dale

 

New Member
gilomer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-26-2013
Message 8 of 8 (1,584 Views)

Re: Dissappearing & re-appearing contour style

01-06-2014 01:20 AM in reply to: dkdzyn

Just an amazingly simple solution!

Our office just started using Civil3D a year ago and we couldn't find this solution...

Thanks!

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!