AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor ces
Valued Contributor
ces
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 1 of 10 (154 Views)

displaying depths of combined surface

154 Views, 9 Replies
06-24-2013 06:54 AM

hi all,

I am looking for some help in displaying depths of a combined surface. I can give the client cut and fill grid ticks, but they want a map, so to speak. I have an existing surface. I have a post dredging surface. I can run the volumes and create a comparison surface. Now what I need is to display the combined surface in such a way that you can easily see, this is the area where 0 - 0.5 feet was removed, this this the area where 0.5 -1.0 feet was removed, and so on and so forth. I am sure can be acomplished, but I am having trouble figuring it out on my own. any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

 

thanks

ces

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 10 (151 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:05 AM in reply to: ces

If you haven't already, create a volume surface and change it's style to show Elevation Bands. The bands would show the different cut/fill depths

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor ces
Valued Contributor
ces
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 3 of 10 (147 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:20 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Peter,

thanks for the help...that is what I want to do, but I do not know how...I have a comparison surface, but elevation bands are not one of the options in the display tab...do I need to create a new style...???...

 

thanks again,

ces

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 4 of 10 (142 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:33 AM in reply to: ces

The style just refers to the elevation bands as Elevation see image below.

6-24-2013 10-31-25 AM.png

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Valued Contributor ces
Valued Contributor
ces
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 5 of 10 (140 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: dmartin

thanks Dave...!!!...

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 6 of 10 (138 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: dmartin

If you really dont need a colorful map, you can just contour the volume surface and label the contours. This is how i have done the same type of map often.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 7 of 10 (131 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: dmartin

Other useful information:

 

The default seperation can be controlled in the analysis tab. i usually change my style to range interval, with the interval set to 1'. You also use this tab to set the default color scheme.

6-24-2013 10-36-41 AM.png

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Valued Contributor ces
Valued Contributor
ces
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 8 of 10 (124 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: dmartin

I can get it to display now, but it seems to disreguard my criteria...I keep setting it to "range interval" but it does not change the display...then when I try to change the surface properties again, it is set to "number of ranges" again...do not know what I am doing wrong...

 

 

thanks again,

ces

Valued Contributor ces
Valued Contributor
ces
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 9 of 10 (119 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 07:58 AM in reply to: ces

never mind, I figured it out...thanks again guys...

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 10 of 10 (114 Views)

Re: displaying depths of combined surface

06-24-2013 08:01 AM in reply to: ces

There are two areas that can control this information. The one i showed previously is the surface style and there is also one in the surface properties, as shown below. I believe that the one in surface properties will always overide any settings in the style.

 

6-24-2013 10-59-46 AM.png

 

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.