AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
brittpiap
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 1 of 5 (162 Views)

Disappearing polylines

162 Views, 4 Replies
01-15-2014 01:35 PM

It seems this disappearing objects phenomenon has not been addressed fully.

My polylines are disappering on me, creating panic as it represents weeks of work.

 

For full info - 

they came in as survey figures, which I exploded down to reg'lar polylines,

as it is easier and the whole drawing gets reverted to simple autocad for the client anyway.

As I work on different layers to see gaps or whatnot, they disappear on me.

 

The first time I thought maybe I made a mistake and went into an older version drawing,

copied and pasted them in to my current drawing.

 

Irritating as I was working on a fast approaching deadline.

 

Then it happened again, and I knew it wasn't me. No regen or audit brought them back.

I find out that I have to close my drawing and open and they will return.

Pretty bad, considering 2013 takes 10 minutes to close and open up to operational,

and yes my computer is beefy enough to handle 2013.

 

And now I have duplicate polylines in my drawing that I have to find and erase those.

 

Is there something I don't know about that will prevent this from happening?

or am I doomed to shut down my program every half hour to see what I am working on?

 

Thanks.

 

 

 

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 5 (159 Views)

Re: Disappearing polylines

01-15-2014 01:44 PM in reply to: brittpiap
Instead of exploding the survey figures, try exporting the file to autocad 2013 dwg. That way you have your original file intact and a dumbed down version, that is the way handle it..
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Contributor
brittpiap
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 3 of 5 (153 Views)

Re: Disappearing polylines

01-15-2014 02:01 PM in reply to: sjg

That does not work. This is a very large drawing with weeks of data, data coming in every day.

 

That does not make sense either, why provide all the survey database and extensive program features

if all we would do is reduce it to a cartoon version to work in?

It should be a working product as is. 

Why would an autocad C3D 2013 drawing have an issue with polylines?

 

I need to be able to manipulate OUR drawing and OUR survey database for our purposes.

I only reduce the drawing when I have to provide data to the client.

 

Contributor
brittpiap
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 4 of 5 (150 Views)

Re: Disappearing polylines

01-15-2014 02:07 PM in reply to: brittpiap

I suppose I should clarify.

For my purposes I only explode selected survey features into polylines, utility locates

as they hold no surface value and require a lot of manipulation.

So, polylines disappear. Survey features aren't disappearing.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,882
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (111 Views)

Re: Disappearing polylines

01-15-2014 05:27 PM in reply to: brittpiap

This is a longshot guess/ experiment: after expolding the figure wbock out (selecting delete from drawing), audit purge. reinsert. Option: open wblocked file FLATTEN, audit purge first.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.