AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 16 (773 Views)

Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

773 Views, 15 Replies
01-09-2013 05:16 AM

Good morning

How to generate a Digital Terrain Model - DTM GRID method in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 on the basis of X, Y, Z (saved in. Txt)?

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 2 of 16 (758 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: janic.piotr

Add as an ENZ point file as Definition data to a new Surface object.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 3 of 16 (746 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 06:38 AM in reply to: fcernst

When adding pops points erroneous reading the information on file with the points.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 4 of 16 (743 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 06:44 AM in reply to: janic.piotr

Well you just can't throw your hands up in the air now :smileyindifferent:  You have to make sure that text file is in the correct format (i.e, comma delimited, space delimited).

 

Look at the C3D Help to make sure you have the correct format. You may have to do a little post processing to that file in your text editor or Excel.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 5 of 16 (728 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: fcernst

The file is OK. TIN model comes out correctly. Only after the creation of GRID surface and attempts to read the file with the coordinates of the points of error pops up.

Regards

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 16 (706 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 12:36 PM in reply to: janic.piotr

Hi There,

 

Ok, so we have the TIN surface built as you first requested...

 

Now what are you trying to "read" the TIN with?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 16 (701 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: fcernst

Fred, the OP is saying the TIN surface works but a GRID surface doesn't.  The first post in the thread is in regard to the creation of a GRID surface.

I've never used GRID surfaces, so I can't help, but just trying to define the problem.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 8 of 16 (697 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 01:24 PM in reply to: troma

Oh thanks.

 

 

 

Janic,

 

Do you want a Grid Surface from a DEM, or do you just want to do this: 

 

Click Home tabCreate Ground Data panelPoints menuCreate Points - SurfaceOn Grid

 

on top of your TIN from that x,yz, file?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 9 of 16 (671 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-10-2013 12:41 AM in reply to: fcernst

Hi,

 

Again, needs to create a grid of squares on the basis of measurements GPS (data stored in a text file x, y, z) without the TIN.

my sample data

 

1,5644422.129,6423029.854,169.499,
2,5644411.918,6423153.805,149.853,
3,5644419.433,6423150.998,149.797,
4,5644421.052,6423147.883,149.915,
...

My email: janic.piotr @ gmail.com

Regards
Peter

Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 10 of 16 (661 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-10-2013 02:30 AM in reply to: fcernst

OP - did you actually try as fcernst suggested?

 

Click Home tabCreate Ground Data panelPoints menuCreate Points - SurfaceOn Grid

 

this will generate points in a grid pattern that conform to the surface created by your irregular points.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 (testing 2015 SP1)
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000 (and another with GTX680)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.