AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
3Dvisualization
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 1 of 5 (222 Views)

Different Elevation at Each Vertex Point with 3D Polyline

222 Views, 4 Replies
07-12-2011 11:11 AM

Hi Guys,

 

I am working on Autodesk Civil 3D version 2010, I need to draw a polyline with different elevation at each vertex. When I change a vertex point elevation, others vertex points elevation have also automatically been changed to the same elevation, or pop up a window: You can't modify a property while dragging grips.

 

Who can give me a direction how to get a polyline with different elevation at each vertex point?

 

Your help is always greatly appreciated!

3D Visualization

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 2 of 5 (211 Views)

Re: Different Elevation at Each Vertex Point with 3D Polyline

07-12-2011 11:23 AM in reply to: 3Dvisualization

First, you should never hijack another thread- start a new topic.

Second, common plines only exist in z dimension at 1 elevation. You need to do a 3d polyline or better yet, use a feature line.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Member
khylton
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2011
Message 3 of 5 (210 Views)

Re: Different Elevation at Each Vertex Point with 3D Polyline

07-12-2011 11:24 AM in reply to: 3Dvisualization

Instead of using a regular polyline you need to use a 3d polyline.  Type 3Dpoly at the command prompt and recreate your line.  Then you can edit the vertex elevations through the properties dialog.

Active Member
chd4trichard
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 4 of 5 (142 Views)

Re: Different Elevation at Each Vertex Point with 3D Polyline

08-11-2011 09:38 AM in reply to: khylton

As I recall, this was not the case in previous (2008 and older) versions of C3D.  I always used a basic polyline to create breaklines for surfaces, and it worked fine.  Now, must use 3Dpoly or feature line, and train survey and drafting crews to do the same.  Why revise such a basic feature in the software?

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 5 of 5 (131 Views)

Re: Different Elevation at Each Vertex Point with 3D Polyline

08-11-2011 10:10 AM in reply to: chd4trichard

No, no change there.

 

Perhaps you are thinking of Proximity Breaklines...?  You can still use those in C3D, but I believe there was a slight change in behavior in Proximity Breaklines between LDD and C3D.  We don't use Proximity Breaklines, and actually like working in 3D, so I'm a bit hazy on the details of Proximity Breaklines.

Sinc
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!