AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
yazzie91
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
Message 1 of 5 (797 Views)

Delete zero elevations from surface

797 Views, 4 Replies
02-01-2013 04:32 PM

I am trying to meet a deadline (so i have to work superbowl sunday weekend:smileymad:) and here's what happened.

 

I graded a commercial site with mostly feature lines. I added points where I needed them to get everything to work. After modifying my surface, I suddenly have zero elevations randomly throughout my site. They don't make any sense why they appear. Some are just added to my drawing and others are existing points that were changed to zero. I can go to a back up drawing from a few hours ago and redo some grading, but I would like to know if there is a way to just erase zero elevations from the surface. I remember LDD was able to create surfaces ignoring elevations below a set elevation. Any help would be great.

 

Thanks!

 

Civil 3D 2013

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,298
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 5 (788 Views)

Re: Delete zero elevations from surface

02-01-2013 07:52 PM in reply to: yazzie91

yazzie91 wrote:

I remember LDD was able to create surfaces ignoring elevations below a set elevation. Any help would be great.

 

Thanks!

 

Civil 3D 2013


C3D has this option as well in the Surface properties:

 

2-1-2013 7-50-00 PM.png

 

 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,246
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 5 (767 Views)

Re: Delete zero elevations from surface

02-02-2013 07:41 AM in reply to: yazzie91

Being limited to a mixed 2D/3D environment is one of the banes of Autocad. Add to that the Site topology paradigm in C3D and we have the problems you describe.

 

What may have happened in your case is you have introduced some elements with zero elevation into your grading site. When you do that, any site objects that touch them will be pulled down to elevation zero at that point. You can set the surface model to ignore zero elevations but that may cause the surface to be inaccurate in those places. Ideally you'll want to correct the spikes.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Distinguished Contributor
SurveyorLee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Message 4 of 5 (764 Views)

Re: Delete zero elevations from surface

02-02-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: yazzie91

Depending on the size of your surface, you may be able to view the surface from the side.  Doing this will pull the zero tin lines way down.  You can then use the "edit Surface Point" to delete the surface points at the end of the lines.  That will take the points out permanently without leaving a hole in your surface.  IF you delete the tin lines, you may wind up with a hole in the surface.

 

Surveyor Lee

Distinguished Contributor
area51visitor
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎03-05-2011
Message 5 of 5 (721 Views)

Re: Delete zero elevations from surface

02-04-2013 12:27 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

It appears Jeff you have the swamp and autodesk taken care of...they should hire you lol

- Brian
"Very funny, Scotty. Now beam down my clothes."
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.