AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
3dcat
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
Message 1 of 7 (181 Views)

data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

181 Views, 6 Replies
01-24-2014 06:31 PM

I had a drawing (Drawing #1) that I created a copy of (I'll call the copy Drawing #2).  In Drawing #2 I created a finished grade surface ("FG") which consists of feature lines drawn within the property lines of the site. 

 

I then created a data shortcut of the FG surface and promoted it into Drawing #1.  The surface is offset and rotated from the site - I would expect it to line up exactly within the property lines.

 

I have done other surfaces this way and haven't had this problem.  Any ideas why this is happening?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,859
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 7 (154 Views)

Re: data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

01-25-2014 06:22 AM in reply to: 3dcat

Make sure your UCS is set to World.

 

Bill

 

Contributor
3dcat
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
Message 3 of 7 (147 Views)

Re: data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

01-25-2014 01:40 PM in reply to: 3dcat

Hi Bill,

 

Thanks for your reply. I checked and the UCS coordinates are set to world.

 

I have some more information on what is happening...

 

The coordinates of SW property line corner are 8715.89, 9376.34 in both Drawing #1 and Drawing #2. When I promote the data shortcut surface into Drawing #1, the surface SW property line corner is located at -9376.34, 8715.89 (the X = - original Y and the Y = original X).

 

I am able to work around the problem by moving the surface and rotating it, but it would be nice to have it come in at the correct location.

 

Thanks again for your help.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,859
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

01-26-2014 04:41 AM in reply to: 3dcat

Perhaps one of the files has the Base command set different.  Base should = 0 (zero) in both drawings.  

OR you could have US Survey Foot and International Foot (Your large difference in location makes it seem unlikely.)

 

Just guessing here.

 

Bill

 

 

Contributor
3dcat
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
Message 5 of 7 (122 Views)

Re: data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

01-26-2014 03:12 PM in reply to: wfberry

Hi Bill,

 

I checked the base and it is zero in both drawings.

 

Thanks for your suggestions...  this is really a strange problem. :smileyfrustrated:

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 6 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

01-27-2014 06:45 AM in reply to: 3dcat

The north definition is messed up if coordinates come in 90° apart. But for the life of me, I don't know what would cause that behaviour.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Valued Contributor
sturner7277
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 7 of 7 (104 Views)

Re: data shortcut surface not inserted at correct location

01-27-2014 06:54 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

did the drawing get rotated, instead of the dview?

-Sean
------------------------------------------------------------------
Just a CAD Manager for a Civil Engineering firm...
Win 7 pro 12gb
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
LDD 2009
IDS 2014
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.