AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Kdempsey
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-19-2014
Message 1 of 7 (266 Views)
Accepted Solution

Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

266 Views, 6 Replies
03-19-2014 01:23 PM

Hello problem solvers,

I am creating my cross sections in a separate file drawing from my main file using xref and data shortcuts.  The sample lines are in place and I'm using a conditional assembly.  In short, it's looking for a feature line placed at the back of the driveway aprons along the street.  If is see the feature line, it displays the driveway parts of the assembly.  If not found, it displays full curb parts.

 

Here's the problem.  two of my five driveways are not correctly displayed, but in different ways. One displays the full lane sub-assembly and the other displays the entire full curb assembly.  the remaining tree driveways display perfectly.

 

Here's the baffling aspect:  I dropped two sample lines in the main drawing at these two driveways and they are displaying perfectly.

Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,276
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 7 (264 Views)

Re: Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

03-19-2014 01:26 PM in reply to: Kdempsey

Do you have a Sample Line at the exact companion Corridor Frequency station for these driveways in question?

 

IE: 5+03.09 SL and 5+03.09 Corr Frequency.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,549
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 3 of 7 (250 Views)

Re: Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

03-19-2014 02:14 PM in reply to: Kdempsey
I don't have a definitive answer, but if I was researching this, I would create my own conditional subassembly in subassembly composer and see if it behaves correctly.

I like your use of the conditionals. That's a far more efficient way of handling driveways than making a region every time you come to a driveway. If you happen to do a write-up of your process for your company I am sure you friends here would appreciate your sharing. :-)

Tim
Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Member
Kdempsey
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-19-2014
Message 4 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

03-20-2014 05:09 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Good Morning,

 

Jay,  the location started out the same but I have since tried sliding the sample line to other locations within the driveway as well as creating new sample lines at other stations within the driveway.  No luck.

 

 

Member
Kdempsey
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-19-2014
Message 5 of 7 (230 Views)

Re: Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

03-20-2014 05:21 AM in reply to: tcorey

Tim,  I had not thought to try a completely different assembly at these two drives.  I'll give that a shot and see where it gets me.  I have used this same assembly within multiple other dwg's with great success so this situation is a mystery. 

 

Thanks too for the kudos on my process.  Conditionals make transitions in your corridor a breeze (once you learn how they work).  I use them mainly for driveways but also retaining walls, railings, and ped drops.  The beauty is that all these options can be created into one conditional assembly. 

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,770
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 7 (217 Views)

Re: Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

03-20-2014 07:18 AM in reply to: Kdempsey

Can you share the file? I would love to take a look at it and see if I can figure it out.

 

If you would rather not share it here, you can e-mail it to me. I have a gmail account called c3dplus.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Member
Kdempsey
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-19-2014
Message 7 of 7 (211 Views)

Re: Data Shortcut - Cross Sections

03-20-2014 08:19 AM in reply to: tcorey

Problem solved!  All my driveways look like driveways.  Tim, instead of trying a different assembly, I took the comment from your kudos about avoiding multiple regions at each driveway and I split the region around the driveway.  Not sure why that makes a difference - I used the same assembly, same targets and widths as before but now it works in both the main dwg and the cross section dwg.  So thanks! 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.