AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 1 of 8 (1,697 Views)

Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

1697 Views, 7 Replies
02-25-2013 01:51 PM

I am working on a project for a park in which they are looking for a new access road and a parking lot.  I created the road and sections for it, now im looking to get material cut/fill from the sections.  I am having a tough time getting them to work.  The only thing I can get to work is if i created a volume surface comparing my eg to my fg surface.  That will give me a cut and fill material amount for my new road

 

What i am trying to get is the volume report for each sections, so i can get the cut/fill for each section.  I have followed the tutorials and tried everything, but nothign seems to work.  I created a surface from my corridor, and for some reason when i go to edit my materials, i cant add my proposed surface from my corridor to make the comparison from, and i think thats my problem.  Everytime i go to create my volume report, i get all 0's.

 

can anyone please point me in the right directions or if there aer some better step by step directions on to complete this task, that would be great

 

Thanks for any help!

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,390
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 8 (1,686 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

02-25-2013 02:39 PM in reply to: greenju17

In order to get volumes for cut and fill on your x-sections, you first have to build a corridor surface.  Add the top or datum as a link.  Then compute materials from the Analyze tab.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Mentor
odoshi
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎06-05-2006
Message 3 of 8 (1,666 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

02-25-2013 06:05 PM in reply to: greenju17

The proposed surface you extracted from the corridor will not show up as available in a material list until you add it as a samples source under your sample lines.

 

If you cut your sections first, then extract a road surface, you have to go back and add it as a sampled source, then you can use it in your material list.

 

After that, look into plotting the section volumes next to the section views, or make a total volume table off to the side.

 

Regards,

Mike

 

Mike Caruso
Autodesk Certified Instructor - Civil 3D Autodesk Certified Professional 2014, 2015
www.civil3d.guru - Are you ready to be a Guru?
-------------------------------------------
Rockin' Civil 3D 2015 on a 13-inch MacBook Air | Intel i5 | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD | Intel HD5000
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,730
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 4 of 8 (1,655 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

02-25-2013 07:49 PM in reply to: greenju17

Be sure to create a datum surface of the corridor first, prior to creating the material list.

 

When creating the Materials list you'll want to set your EG surface & Datum surface to calculate the raw cut/fill section volumes..

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 5 of 8 (1,347 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

11-19-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: greenju17
Thanks for all the help.... I created a volume tin surface to compare the 2 surfaces (existing ground and corridor surface), and I get the total cut volume ( I surveyed the bottom of a lake for dreging, so its all cut). But when I do a report per station and get a total number of cu yards of cut, it differs from the volume surface?? any suggestions?
Valued Contributor blt
Valued Contributor
blt
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 6 of 8 (1,321 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

11-19-2013 04:19 PM in reply to: greenju17

The volume from surface comparison and volume from end areas or cross section will always be slightly different, because they are calculated differently.  But you do have to look at that difference and see if it is acceptable.  This is the reason that we write specifications that say we pay on the End Area method.

Bryan Thorp
Civil 3D 2013 SP1
Dell T3500 Workstation
Intel Xeon E5630 @ 2.53 GHz
12 Gig of RAM
Nvidia Quadro FX3800
Window 7 x 64bit OS
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 7 of 8 (1,301 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

11-20-2013 06:28 AM in reply to: greenju17
It should differ from the volume surface because the volume surface is sampling at nearly infinite levels of accuracy. The average end area method, which computes at cross sections is only as accurate as your section frequency because everything inbetween the sections is averaged out. Unfortunately, the volume surface is the right one... if the plans have a high detail you'll get the volume surface. then again, there are a lot of factors such as fluff factors, compaction and other things that'll make your EW and the actual EW off.... unless of course you spend a lot of time calculating all of that.
John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 8 (1,297 Views)

Re: Cut/Fill's from Cross Sections

11-20-2013 06:57 AM in reply to: greenju17

Just note the Section View Tables can be had without a corridor. Two surfaces and a quantity takeoff (Materials List tab of sample line GROUP properties dialog) should be the min data you need. After you have this you should just be able to tell C3D to create the Section View Tables when you create the cross sections.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.