AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
awill296
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 1 of 5 (600 Views)

Cut/fill quantities from google earth surface

600 Views, 4 Replies
01-14-2013 03:44 PM

I am using Civil 3D 2011 for my job. I am trying to put together preliminary estimates and need earthwork qunatities. I have no issue importing a google earth surface. I import the surface and create a boundary. How do I calculate cut/fill quantities? I tried creating a finished ground surface then making a tin volume surface to compare the two. However, I do not know how to create a fnished ground surface. I have also tried grading in civil 3d. Cannot get anyting to work. Any help would be much appreciated!

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 5 (597 Views)

Re: Cut/fill quantities from google earth surface

01-14-2013 03:53 PM in reply to: awill296

First of all - welcome to the board.

 

We're going to need a lot more information to answer this question.  First of all what is it that you're trying to design?  What sort of design information do you already have - points, lines, alignment, profile or what?

Member
awill296
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 3 of 5 (593 Views)

Re: Cut/fill quantities from google earth surface

01-14-2013 04:01 PM in reply to: sboon

Okay. Let me be a little more specific. I am trying to calculate earthwork quantities for a site where a commercial building and parking lot will go. As mentioned early, this is a preliminary estimate. All i have to go off of is google earth. There are no survey points. I am just trying to figure out how much cut and fill i am going to need to make a flat surface. The only thing I have been able to do so far is import the surface and create a boundary where the site wil be. Stuck after that. 

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 5 (586 Views)

Re: Cut/fill quantities from google earth surface

01-14-2013 04:32 PM in reply to: awill296

OK that's a start.  For a really basic flat surface you can start with a polyline outline of your site at the design elevation.  Once you have that I suggest that you start looking at the help information for surfaces here.  You will be able to use the polyline as part of the surface data and then calculate volumes to the Google Earth surface that you already have.

 

 

Member
awill296
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 5 of 5 (583 Views)

Re: Cut/fill quantities from google earth surface

01-14-2013 04:34 PM in reply to: sboon

Okay. Thanks.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.