AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Darius
Message 1 of 8 (1,251 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

1251 Views, 7 Replies
06-17-2009 05:23 AM
Hi,
I have a problem, I need write Cut and Fill Labels on Volume surface in each
10x10 meters. Civil 3D can write Spot Levels on grid, but I need write Cut
and Fill values in grid area. Using Surface >Utilities>Bounded volumes I can
get the values on selected closed polygon, but write to all is very long
work.
Maybe someone have an idea how to do write Cut and Fill labels on grid.
Thanks
Regards
Darius

Try the cartogramma extension from the subscription site this should do what you want.

*wfb
Message 2 of 8 (1,251 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

06-17-2009 05:31 AM in reply to: *Darius
Try this:

http://civilcommunity.autodesk.com/blogs/blog/5/blogpost/2945/

Google is your friend.

Bill

"Darius" wrote in message
news:6203239@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi,
I have a problem, I need write Cut and Fill Labels on Volume surface in each
10x10 meters. Civil 3D can write Spot Levels on grid, but I need write Cut
and Fill values in grid area. Using Surface >Utilities>Bounded volumes I can
get the values on selected closed polygon, but write to all is very long
work.
Maybe someone have an idea how to do write Cut and Fill labels on grid.
Thanks
Regards
Darius
*Darius
Message 3 of 8 (1,251 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

06-17-2009 05:43 AM in reply to: *Darius
Thanks Bill,

It is a good thing. Maybe I not write what exactly I need. I must write
Labels like on this example, but I need Cut volume and Fill volume of grid
(10x10).

Darius

"wfb" wrote in message
news:6203247@discussion.autodesk.com...
Try this:

http://civilcommunity.autodesk.com/blogs/blog/5/blogpost/2945/

Google is your friend.

Bill

"Darius" wrote in message
news:6203239@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi,
I have a problem, I need write Cut and Fill Labels on Volume surface in each
10x10 meters. Civil 3D can write Spot Levels on grid, but I need write Cut
and Fill values in grid area. Using Surface >Utilities>Bounded volumes I can
get the values on selected closed polygon, but write to all is very long
work.
Maybe someone have an idea how to do write Cut and Fill labels on grid.
Thanks
Regards
Darius
*wfb
Message 4 of 8 (1,251 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

06-17-2009 06:13 AM in reply to: *Darius
Darius:

You are correct. You asked for Cut /Fill Labels. Now you want Cut / Fill
Volume labels.

Sorry on my part. Seems like some sort or overkill. Perhaps you can take
the C/F labels ( @ center if ea. square) and with an expression multiply by
area.

Bill

"Darius" wrote in message
news:6203244@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks Bill,

It is a good thing. Maybe I not write what exactly I need. I must write
Labels like on this example, but I need Cut volume and Fill volume of grid
(10x10).

Darius

"wfb" wrote in message
news:6203247@discussion.autodesk.com...
Try this:

http://civilcommunity.autodesk.com/blogs/blog/5/blogpost/2945/

Google is your friend.

Bill

"Darius" wrote in message
news:6203239@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi,
I have a problem, I need write Cut and Fill Labels on Volume surface in each
10x10 meters. Civil 3D can write Spot Levels on grid, but I need write Cut
and Fill values in grid area. Using Surface >Utilities>Bounded volumes I can
get the values on selected closed polygon, but write to all is very long
work.
Maybe someone have an idea how to do write Cut and Fill labels on grid.
Thanks
Regards
Darius
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 5 of 8 (1,251 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

06-17-2009 07:01 AM in reply to: *Darius
Darius -



That isn't an easy task - but it can be done.



The Civil Community site has a tool written by Nick Zeeben regarding calculating multiple Parcel volumes. It doesn't sort, but the output is generated.



With a little hack, one could export that to a CSV file and link it back to an excel spreadsheet.



Not 100% dynamic, but it does work.



Matthew Anderson, PE
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
New Member
archiemorehate
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2013
Message 6 of 8 (525 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

10-08-2013 01:03 AM in reply to: *wfb
hi bill, i cant access that link. can you explain. the process of cut and fill per square area. thank you.
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 8 (516 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

10-08-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: archiemorehate
Are you looking to label the depth of cut/fill, or the volume?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Contributor
Krite1
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-12-2009
Message 8 of 8 (496 Views)

Re: Cut Fill Labels on Volume surface

10-08-2013 12:49 PM in reply to: *Darius

Try the cartogramma extension from the subscription site this should do what you want.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!