Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cut and Fill

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
shahjamil
2887 Views, 7 Replies

Cut and Fill

Dear All,

I am new to AutoCAD Civil 3D. We have surveyed the existing road alignment by leveling (at
an interval of 25m with an offset of 25m to both side of the road) to create
the NSL. Later on after some earthwork we surveyed the alignment again to
obtain the new levels at an interval of 25 meter. Now I want to draw cross
sections of the NSL and modified surface and calculate cut and fill. Is it
possible in AutoCAD Civil 3D? a step by step tutorial will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Jamil Shah

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
josephbouza5497
in reply to: shahjamil

Hi Jamil, this is exactly what c3d does. you will need to create two surface; OG and post grading FG, create sample lines along your baseline stationing, create section, compute material, add a table of volumes.

A lot to put in a post.

you will need to do the OOTB tutorials for:

* alignments

* surfaces

* sections

* volumes

Message 3 of 8
shahjamil

Great! but i have data in the form of offset elevation for both the OG and FG at an interval of 25m having an offset of 25m of both side of the roads. To make it more clear the formate of the data is:

Section 12+00

offset              Elevation

-25                    300

-20                    310

-15                     311

-10                    312

0                       300

5                       311

and so on

So will i be able to compute earth work quantities from this data?

Thanks

Message 4 of 8
GZE
Advocate