AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,858
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 11 of 15 (573 Views)

Re: Cut and Fill Estimating

03-21-2011 07:17 AM in reply to: j3ff1rw1n

Jeff,

 

Just remember that you have GIS software with Civil 3D as it has the functionality of Map 3D built in.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
New Member
johnsmth741
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
Message 12 of 15 (517 Views)

Re: Cut and Fill Estimating

03-28-2011 03:31 PM in reply to: j3ff1rw1n

Hi

 

I am a university student trying to use civil 3d for one of my projects. I understand the process once the surfaces are created however, unclear on how to create a surface from the existing and proposed levels i have for the site.

 

So for the site I have the aod levels for the proposed and existing these are on a 2d drawing no z elevation

Any help will be appreciated

Member
j3ff1rw1n
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-20-2011
Message 13 of 15 (502 Views)

Re: Cut and Fill Estimating

03-29-2011 04:57 AM in reply to: johnsmth741

If you are working with only points, you'll need to add z elevations or the surface will be flat. If the points were created in AutoCAD, you'll need to convert them into C3D points.

 

Try this

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14711189&linkID=9240697

 

Once you convert the points, make sure you assign your existing and proposed points to different point groups. You can now create the surfaces and you're pretty much done. 

Member
012576945
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
Message 14 of 15 (125 Views)

Re: Cut and Fill Estimating

03-21-2014 05:57 AM in reply to: j3ff1rw1n

Hi Jeff,

 

I've just started work as an estimator and I'm new to CAD. I have a contour map on AutoCAD Civil 3D with contour lines. How would I be able to use AutoCad to estimate the quantities of fill that I can obtain for the site? Lets say that the highest elevation is 20 feet and I want to bring the site down to 10ft?

 

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 1,010
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 15 of 15 (120 Views)

Re: Cut and Fill Estimating

03-21-2014 06:20 AM in reply to: 012576945

Welcome to the Forum. Please start a new thread. This thread is three years old.

 

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.