Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cut and Fill Estimating

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
j3ff1rw1n
14033 Views, 15 Replies

Cut and Fill Estimating

I work for construction company as an estimator. Just to be clear, my background is in GIS, Urban Planning and Surveying. I'm quite versed in AutoCAD design and also use it daily for calculating quantity takeoffs for proposed construction projects.

Here's my question. I've been testing Civil 3D as a quick method for calculating cut and fill quantities. I've done some reading and I think I've figured out a simple method of doing this. What I would like to know is if I'm doing this properly.

Below are the steps I've taken to produce my numbers:

1. Existing and proposed elevation marks in the AutoCAD drawing are assigned points with correct z elevations.

note* the existing and proposed elevations cover almost the exact same surface areas. To be clear, if a polyline was connected around the boundary points of each layer, they would almost match up.

2. All points are brought into Civil 3D 

3. Existing points are converted into Civil 3D cogo points with the description "existing"

4. Same process as step 3 used for the proposed points with the description "proposed"

5. Existing and proposed cogo points are assigned to separate point groups with relative names

6. Two TIN surfaces are created with surface style "Contours 1m and 5m (design)" 

note* I'm not sure what the difference between the (design) and (background) options are

7.  Both existing and proposed point groups are assigned to each relative surface. 

8. A TIN volume surface is created using surface style "Contours 1m and 5m (design)" and the "existing" TIN surface is assigned to the base surface, with the "proposed" TIN surface assigned to the comparison surface.