AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 1 of 3 (930 Views)

CTB from Microstation pen table?

930 Views, 2 Replies
11-05-2012 09:37 AM

Has anybody had any success creating a CTB file to mimic a Microstation pen table? I have a client supplied *.tbl (an intergraph pen table file I believe) and I need to figure out how to generate a CTB that will behave similarly (ie. plot nearly the same)...  any suggestions?

 

I can open the *.tbl file in a text editor and it just looks like a bunch of "if, then" statements related to line weights and pattern files....

 

I have already created a template with the same layers/levels, colors, linewights, etc... (and can convert everything to dgns), but now I need to figure out how to get similar plotted results from both sets of drawings (the dwg and the dgn..)

 

thanks,

 

-d

Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 2 of 3 (923 Views)

Re: CTB from Microstation pen table?

11-05-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: eladkcem

MicroStation uses 2 files to control plotting; a pltcfg file which controls the plotting of lineweights and the output file format (postscript, etc) or device, the tbl file is used for things like text substitution and turning levels on and off, turning on/off fills.

 

MicroStation plotting is more like stb than ctb plotting so I really can't help you much further creating ctb.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Valued Contributor
eladkcem
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-22-2007
Message 3 of 3 (920 Views)

Re: CTB from Microstation pen table?

11-05-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: michael.robertson

Thanks Michael,

 

Knowing there are other files I need to look in is very helpful! I do have a *.cfg file which does appear to include more information than the *.tbl file. Once again I can open it with a basic text editor... now to see if I can figure out what it says and whether I can create a ctb from it... (manually I guess... *sigh*)

 

-d

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.