AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
SSicina
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Message 1 of 5 (245 Views)

Crossing Tin Lines

245 Views, 4 Replies
12-03-2013 12:55 PM

I have built a alingment, corridor, and surface of a driveway but I have a few holes in my surface.  I tried to add lines to my TIN surface and some filled in properly but others would not and I had TIN lines that crossed (actually they are 4 different lines that meet at on point).  Why does this happen and how can I fix it?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,071
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (233 Views)

Re: Crossing Tin Lines

12-03-2013 01:49 PM in reply to: SSicina

Hi,

 

welcome @forums.autodesk.com !

 

What version of Civil3D do you have and do you have installed the latest servicepack?

What happens if you export the surface to LandXML and reimport it into a new drawing?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 5 (223 Views)

Re: Crossing Tin Lines

12-03-2013 02:08 PM in reply to: SSicina
TIN lines cannot cross each other - fundamental principle of triangulation.

try drawing a polyline around the gap areas and add to surface as a show boundary
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: Crossing Tin Lines

12-03-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: SSicina
Tough to say why this happens without your drawing we have no idea how the surface was created. Those "crossing" TIN lines usually happen when you add lines in an area where there are break lines defined.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
New Member
SSicina
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Message 5 of 5 (183 Views)

Re: Crossing Tin Lines

12-04-2013 06:54 AM in reply to: SSicina

We figured out the issue I had not set a corridor border and I had deleted a line that was used within the surface when I was cleaning up the extra daylighting lines.  I ressolved the issue by using a corridor border. Thanks for the help though

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.