AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
danelabonte
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 1 of 5 (407 Views)

Crosshairs stutter after selecting objects

407 Views, 4 Replies
01-25-2013 02:04 PM

Does anyone know why my crosshairs stutter after I select an object? I first noticed it after the AutoCAD release that added vertex control options to plines. Crosshairs hang for a second or two after selecting an object that has vertices. Seems like CAD is evaluating the vertices.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 5 (395 Views)

Re: Crosshairs stutter after selecting objects

01-25-2013 03:43 PM in reply to: danelabonte

Don't know your version but there is a perfomance hotfix for  that fixed that for me

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 5 (356 Views)

Re: Crosshairs stutter after selecting objects

01-28-2013 05:14 AM in reply to: danelabonte

We had a major issue with this with 2011 & installed the hotfix Joe mentioned which took care of it. We are now on 2012 SP 2.1 & there have been a couple users describe similar issues involving crosshairs. If you haven't cleaned out your temp folder lately I would try that first, if your on a newer version han 2011.

Close all of your applications prior to deleteing the temp files & delete everything in the following folder:

C:\Users\brubble\AppData\Local\Temp\

This is for Windows 7 temp folder location.

Cleaning out the temp folder on regular basis can cure many instablity issues as there are a ton of temporary files written there over the course of time.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 5 (352 Views)

Re: Crosshairs stutter after selecting objects

01-28-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Hi Jay_B

 

Only the tmp file of everything? My temp folder also has floders in it - do they go too?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 5 of 5 (347 Views)

Re: Crosshairs stutter after selecting objects

01-28-2013 05:30 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe,

 

Yes just make sure that you're out of all windows app's & then delete everything it will allow you to.

There's normally a couple of files it can't delete, say 2 or 3.

 

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.