AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 3 (299 Views)

Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

299 Views, 2 Replies
10-30-2012 01:24 AM

This looks like an interesting tool

 

http://autodesk.typepad.com/transportation/2012/10/x-section-to-surface.html

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (280 Views)

Re: Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

10-30-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: neilyj

"This tool, in short, provides a way to take digital cross sections, specify an accompanying horizontal alignment and create a surface."

I didn't have time to watch the video, but it sounds like a corridor.....?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 3 (276 Views)

Re: Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

10-30-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:

"This tool, in short, provides a way to take digital cross sections, specify an accompanying horizontal alignment and create a surface."

I didn't have time to watch the video, but it sounds like a corridor.....?


Sounds like but isn't......if you have been supplied with, I guess, a 3rd party's drawing containing dumb CAD polylines You can recreate an alignment in C3D and from there can "reverse engineer" the cross sections to create a surface.

 

As mentioned in the blog "...This tool serves a bit of niche role.." but this particular niche is one that happens to me very regularly.

 

This link demonstrates another more manual approach http://advsurveying.com/advcivil/?p=71

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!