AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
novais
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 1 of 14 (528 Views)

Cross sections & Reports

528 Views, 13 Replies
10-19-2012 09:50 AM

Hello, 

In a particular road project i need to show for all the cross sections, the coordinates (x,y) of the main points ( for example: daylight, etw and crown). I know that i can obtain it from reports->corridor  but as far as i know, i must edit in excel and paste each PK info next to the correspondant cross section.

Is there a way more automatic raher than copy paste the report list?

 

Thank you all.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 569
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 2 of 14 (514 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-19-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: novais

The only way I know to label those specific points is through the labels assigned in the code set styles.  Not sure why you need N & E. If you can label the offset and elev at that particular station, the construction surveyors can lay it out. See image.

10-19-2012 1-25-53 PM.png

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Active Contributor
novais
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 3 of 14 (494 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-19-2012 04:19 PM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Thank you for the idea. This issue was a request by the contractor, i'm not used to put this kind of info into cross sections.

The idea is something like the picture i've attached.

 

Thank you.

Distinguished Contributor
SurveyorLee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Message 4 of 14 (481 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-19-2012 06:55 PM in reply to: novais

You could set up a template and generate cogo points from the corridor, then give the contractor the points and a plan shee with the points shown

 

Lee

Active Contributor
novais
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 5 of 14 (452 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-20-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

The labels in code set style seems to me like a good idea but when i goto the style label  component editor, it doesn't have any coordinates info that i can use, it only displays point code, point code description, subassembly point offset, subassembly point offset side and subassembly point elevation. Where can i extract the cooordinates data?

 

Maybe it's a dumb question but here i'm off my knowledge boundary... 

 

Thanks for the support.

Nuno

 

Distinguished Contributor
SurveyorLee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Message 6 of 14 (449 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-20-2012 09:14 AM in reply to: novais

It's been a while since I did it.  You create your point descriptors and codes in the template, then run the template on the profile.  That creates points at each station. You will neeed to assing a station list to get odd stations like the inlets and high and low points, and any other odd station, like the pc's and pt's

 

I used this in the "olden days," when i had residential streets to stake. Using it, i comped stakeout data for curb, storm, curb offsets, sanitary sewers and centerlines. 

 

 

Surveyor Lee

 

 

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 569
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 7 of 14 (438 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-20-2012 10:09 AM in reply to: novais

Nuno - You are correct, there isn't a component for the NE.  Just not sure why it's needed, you have the station along the alignment, you have the offset, NE shouldn't be necessary.  As others have said, you can extract points from the corridor.  Our construction surveyors stake off the cross sections without issue.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,859
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 8 of 14 (417 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-21-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: novais

Nuno:

 

Here is how this should or could be done.  You really do not need the NE in the label.  The point should  be AT the proper coordinate location.

 

For instance, let's take a simple case.  Civil 3D makes it quite easy to get points along the center line at the elevation of the final grade (from the profile elevation of the alignment).

 

If you want to stake a curb grade that is 12' from the centerline and is 0.2 feet above the centerline grade, you can offset the centerline point 14' (2' off back of curb) and 0.2' higher.  The points will have the NE as part of the point structure (x,yz) in the point file.

 

Keep in mind that the project should be in a coordinate system. 

 

This is in no way a primer on how to accomplish this.  It takes an understanding of the software.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,859
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 9 of 14 (416 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-21-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Lisa:

 

I bet your surveyors do not work alone like some of us.

 

<G>

 

Bill

Active Contributor
novais
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 10 of 14 (408 Views)

Re: Cross sections & Reports

10-21-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: novais

You all are correct, and i know that from the beginning.

For me, also, it doesn't make any sense at all, but it's an imposition from the contractor. I can't  talk with him and explain that he doesn't need that kind of info in cross sections. :smileyfrustrated:

I'm stuck in making a corridor report and paste the N/E info into each cross section...

 

Thanks.

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.